Kaptain O

Members
  • Content count

    115
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Time Online

    112d 10h 22m 52s

Community Reputation

1 Neutral

About Kaptain O

  • Rank
    Mayanaut
  • Birthday 08/29/1979

Converted

  • Location Albany, NY

ITS

  • ITS PIN I1278
  1. New Onyx player here, just played my first game vs Steel Phalanx and got my butt kicked by ODD, Smoke, and MSV2 so I came here to find help and find this eerily specific thread! I have a few questions for you guys: Flipswitch, you seem like you love the E-Drone! Can you tell me why you use it over the other hacker choices we have available? Also, speaking of drones, why do you not run the Q-Drone? Do you not like it or just not able to fit it in with the other toys? I have tried (in other factions) taking multiple ARO pieces either individually or in a link to support each other but my opponents always "slice the pie" and move their guy just far enough around a corner to see one of my ARO pieces but not the others and pick that one off, then move a little further around the corner until they can see the next one and then pick that one off and so on. Maybe I am just placing my models poorly and I could deploy them differently but I can't figure it out (unless I am able to somehow place them perfectly vertically above one another?). How do you avoid the pie slicing picking your models off one by one? Thanks for the help guys!
  2. When you make a CC Attack against a piece of scenery (like the AC2 in Looting & Sabotage) do you still roll to hit?
  3. I have a game of Firefight tonight and I wanted to get some clarification on how the Panoplies work ahead of time. Here is the rules text for the Panoplies in the Season 9 ITS document: I searched and found this post from IJW: So that answered one of my questions. The rest of my questions are related to the way the effects are formatted/nested. The first bullet point has multiple subsections so if I perform the "Use the Panoplies" short skill with a normal trooper will he get to roll on the booty chart *and* cancel his Unloaded state or does he have to choose one or the other? If I have used 2 of my 3 AP Mines I am not in the Unloaded state, can I still use the Panoply to "top up" my mines back to 3 or do I have to be completely empty of one (or more) pieces of disposable equipment to refill any/all of them? The Subsection about models with Booty appears in the first section and given the way it is worded it seems to modify the normal trooper effect in the same section. The second section referring to Specialist Troops seems to be worded as a second effect entirely (i.e. it tells you to make a WIP roll rather than saying "Specialist Troops may roll twice on the table..." and that effect does not include the clause disallowing subsequent uses of the logistics trait once a success has been rolled. Does this mean that a Specialist may use the panoply as many times as they want over the course of the game? If the answer to Question 1 was "Yes, a normal trooper can (with a single short skill) make a WIP roll to roll on a Booty table and cancel the Unloaded state.", if a specialist uses a short skill to roll twice on the Booty table are they also able to cancel the Unloaded state? Thanks for any help and please if possible can you explain the reason for any answers and if/how the formatting of the effects section affects things? I just want to get better at understanding how it all works.
  4. Active player has model A with stealth. Reactive player has model B with no relevant skills. Unless specified model A elects to use its Stealth. Please let me know if I am interpreting the following situations correctly Question/Situation 1 Model A begins outside of B's ZoC and LoF. Model A activates and uses 1st short skill to move inside B's ZoC but stays out of LoF. No ARO is generated due to Stealth. Model A declares 2nd short skill to throw a smoke grenade. Model B now has an ARO. Resolve the grenade and ARO simultaneously. Would it matter at what point on A's movement path he elected to throw the smoke grenade from? Question/Situation 2 Model A begins outside of B's ZoC and LoF. Model A activates and declares 1st short skill to throw a smoke grenade choosing a location within LoF to throw to (but not measuring range). No ARO is generated due to no LoF/ZoC. Model A uses 2nd short skill to move inside B's ZoC but stays out of LoF. Model B still has no ARO due to Stealth Resolve the grenade. Can A choose to throw the grenade from any point on his path that has LoF to the chosen location? If so is range measured from the chosen point on his path to the chosen location? If the point on his path that he elects to throw from is within B's ZoC will that grant an ARO? Question/Situation 3 Model A begins inside of B's ZoC but outside of his LoF. Model A activates and uses 1st short skill to move outside B's ZoC and stays out of LoF. No ARO is generated due to Stealth. Model A declares 2nd short skill to throw a smoke grenade. No ARO is generated due to no LoF/ZoC. Resolve the grenade. When A chooses the point on his path to throw from, if he chooses a point that was within B's ZoC will that generate an ARO for B? Question/Situation 4 Model A begins inside of B's ZoC but outside of his LoF. Model A activates and uses 1st short skill to move completely outside B's ZoC and then back in again, he stays out of LoF. No ARO is generated due to Stealth. Model A declares 2nd short skill to throw a smoke grenade. ARO is generated. Resolve the grenade and ARO. When A chooses the point on his path to throw from, if he chooses a point that was within outside of B's ZoC will that prevent B getting an ARO? Thanks!
  5. I get that you only check for the condition at the end of the game and not reach round, what I'm asking is what is the condition I am checking for on that 4th bullet. Am I checking whether my Beacon is currently captured, or am I checking to see whether I was able to prevent my Beacon from being captured at all this game. If the former it should probably have used similar language to the prior 3 bullets that also only care about the status of the Beacon at the end of the game.
  6. Hoping I can get some guidance on some of the stuff in the ITS 9 Mission "Capture & Protect". I played it today with a friend and there was some confusion about it. 1) What does the 4th bullet point of the objectives mean? The objectives read as follows: Due to the use of different language in the 4th bullet point I interpreted these to mean the following: » If at the end of the game I currently control the Enemy Beacon I get 3 OP. » If at the end of the game I currently control the Enemy Beacon with my Datatracker I get +2 OP. » If at the end of the game I currently control the Enemy Beacon and it is in my DZ I get +1 OP. » If my enemy never controlled the my Beacon at *any* point during the game I get 3 OP. If they captured my Beacon at some point and then I killed that model and they no longer control my Beacon at the end of the game I do not get these 3 points. My friend agreed with my interpretation of the first 3 bullets but for the 4th one he felt it was only concerned with the state of the Beacon at the end of the game. 2) What happens to the Scenery Item used as a Beacon when you capture it? What happens if the model who captured it is placed in a Null state? My interpretation was that the Beacon Scenery Item stays on the table and moves with the capturing piece in a similar way to a model in the CASEVAC state and if the capturing piece enters a Null state the Beacon Scenery Item is left in base contact and is no longer captured. His interpretation is that the Beacon Scenery Item is removed from the table when captured and then if the captured model enters a Null state it is placed on the table anywhere in base contact with the capturing model. Thanks in advance for any help/guidance with this, we are not tournament players so some of the stuff that seems obvious to seasoned vets leaves us dazed and confused!
  7. New Onyx player here, I have models on the way courtesy of my FLGS but I was wondering what resin/sculpted bases you guys suggest/recommend/like to use for Onyx?
  8. I only see 5 episodes Onyx/Hassassin/Imperial/Tohaa/Listbuilding. It sounds like you have some older episodes, are they still available anywhere?
  9. That's what I suspected, that doesn't really make sense cinematically speaking though =( Hopefully in the future they change it so you declare mines represented by camo markers as being prone.
  10. Follow up question So the mine doesn't trigger and no ARO is declared. Next order can that model attempt to discover the S2 Camo marker he can see over the low wall? Maybe things would make more sense if camo markers representing mines were placed prone and treated as S0 or is there another interaction/reason that wouldn't work?
  11. I was going to try explaining it again, more slowly this time, but I realised it was clearly a giant waste of my time. No matter what anyone says you are far too invested in your "interpretation".
  12. So lets say that you can spend that token at "any time" you choose to spend it in your reactive phase The RB says: Cancel the Possessed state of a friendly trooper in an Active Turn that follows the turn in which the model became Possessed. This option can only be used before the Order Count in the Tactical Phase of the Active Turn. So even if your literal interpretation that you can spend the token at *any* time is correct you wouldn't be able to use that option because of the individual restriction on it. You also couldn't move an allied trooper to a different group, declare a Coordinated Order, or Reroll a failed Doctor or Engineer check. You could pick a troop to be unaffected by Retreat for the rest of the game, or turn the order provided by an Irregular troop into a Regular order for the current player turn (useless), or Reroll a Guts Check. I'm not saying that your interpretation of "any" is correct, I'm just saying that even if you can spend that token in the reactive turn, the only thing you can functionally spend it on is to reroll a Guts check.
  13. So what are you hoping to be able to do by spending that command token at nonstandard times?
  14. 9 40mm Camo tokens... That would take up a lot of space!