KestrelM1

Members
  • Content count

    685
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Time Online

    195d 2h 14m 30s

Community Reputation

481 Excellent

About KestrelM1

  • Rank
    Wired

ITS

  • ITS PIN V8323
  1. Good to point out. Sorry the example muddied the waters on that.
  2. Ah, makes sense. I missed the bullet point about the "type" of order being a Special Dodge and not an attack. Thanks for the answers.
  3. The Shikami seems best in take-and-hold scenarios like Supplies, where you can use their incredible vertical mobility to hide very effectively, and their durability to weather enemy attacks.
  4. The fourth Effect of Nimbus ammo is: "Firing Nimbus Special Ammunition is an Attack."
  5. Sorry, but in Yu Jing we have higher standards for CC than "perfectly fine"
  6. Okay. where is that rule located, for future reference? And as a corollary question, is it not allowed to throw Nimbus ammo on Friendly/Neutral models, since that is very explicitly an Attack?
  7. I'd agree, but problematically the term "affected" is defined as: "All troopers or targets in base contact or inside the Area of Effect of the Template are affected by the Attack declared."
  8. So, I'm having a bit of trouble reconciling some very common maneuvers with the rules. The first is a fairly typical Special Dodge, in which a trooper uses a Smoke Grenade in such a way that their own base, or a friendly's base, is covered. The standard "Smoke at my feet" tactic. The second is using a Smoke Ammunition in such a way that affects Civilians. From my reading of the rules, it seems that in both of the maneuvers above, the shot would be considered "null" and the attack cancelled. The relevant rules I'm seeing are this one, under "Template weapons and friendly and Neutral troopers": "So, if the player declares an Attack with a Template weapon that affects a friendly or Neutral trooper, then that shot is considered null." And this one, under "Civilians in Infinity": "So, if the player declares an Attack with a Template weapon that affects a Civilian, then that shot is considered null (But not any other shot of the same Burst with no Civilian affected by a Template)." Both of which effectively say the same thing. I couldn't find anything that overrides these rules in the Impact Template (Circular), Non Lethal, Special Dodge, Speculative Fire, Targetless, or Throwing Weapon rules, or elsewhere. So it seems that any template, regardless of its ammunition type, including Smoke, is cancelled if it is placed such that it affects a friendly trooper or Civilian. Now obviously this flies in the face of both common sense and common play practices, so I'm guessing I'm missing something. Does anyone know where the relevant rule(s) allowing this are located? And if not, should I start enforcing this in games?
  9. Surprise shooting multiple targets with his boarding shotgun, for one. Civ-evaccing civilians in the Rescue scenario, for two. I wouldn't underestimate the power of a TO surprise shot boarding shotgun, even if his BS isn't the best.
  10. Whether CC is order-efficient depends a lot on what you're aiming to kill. If you're activating Shinobu Kitsune and rounding a corner on a Fusilier, then yeah, it's probably better to use the Combi Rifle than spend the orders trying to force CC. But if you're rounding the corner on a Jotum, suddenly that Monofilament CCW is far and away your best option, and worth spending the time to toss smoke to get into CC and chop the thing in half. CC has the advantage of being one of the most reliable attacks you can make, assuming that you're going up against someone who is not a CC specialist themselves. As someone mentioned above, that generally means CC22+ and at least Martial Arts L3. CC is very powerful against troops with high ARM and/or high defensive modifiers, like ODD or TO Camo. But you do need to pick your targets well - as mentioned above, if you are draining your order pool to CC a line trooper to death, you're probably not getting the most from your orders. CC is a game of target selection and opportunity. Target selection is important - look for expensive models with CC scores under 20 and without CC special skills. Opportunity is the next most important part. Even if you've decided you want to CC that Swiss Guard to death, it'll do you no good if your CC model is 24" away on the other side of the table. Learning to position your troops for good CC opportunities is also something that comes with experience. The good news is that in many ITS scenarios your opponent is forced to come to you, so you can use that to your advantage.
  11. If it's a Hac Tao, then why is it visible?
  12. No, you're completely correct. The "special fireteam" requirements are only used for team formation, not for maintaining the team.
  13. I think the missions you'll be playing will be much more important to your list than your opponents' factions. But what you have so far looks excellent, and will be good for general-purpose lists. You should only need some minor tweaks for most missions.
  14. Drat! Back to the drawing board on that one
  15. Choose wisely: Imperial Service ────────────────────────────────────────────────── 10 WÚ MÍNG Heavy Rocket Launcher, Light Shotgun / Pistol, Knife. (2 | 33) WÚ MÍNG Heavy Rocket Launcher, Light Shotgun / Pistol, Knife. (2 | 33) WÚ MÍNG HMG / Pistol, Knife. (2 | 39) WÚ MÍNG (Fireteam: Duo) Combi Rifle + E/Mitter, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 32) WÚ MÍNG (Forward Observer) Boarding Shotgun / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 31) SOPHOTECT Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 31) SOPHOTECT Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 31) SOPHOTECT Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 31) SOPHOTECT Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 31) SOPHOTECT Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 31) SOPHOTECT Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 31) SOPHOTECT Combi Rifle, D-Charges / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 31) YUDBOT Electric Pulse. (0 | 3) CELESTIAL GUARD Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 13) 6 SWC | 299 Points Open in Infinity Army