• Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

38 Excellent

About VeronaKid

  • Rank


  • Location Florida, USA


  • ITS PIN J3554
  1. I really like both the idea of this line and pretty much all of the concept art. The o yoroi, pan-o techie, and nomad concepts are particularly hot. As more of a painter than a player, I am much more concerned with a sculptor's ability to let his or her creativity shine through to make an interesting model than I am about playable models or missing profiles. It looks like cb gave the art department the green light to let loose, and I like where they went with it. I'll vote with my wallet, just like everyone else, and if the models are as good as the concept art, I will probably buy at least two if not three of them.
  2. Winner, winner, chicken dinner.
  3. Simply an awesome month of releases. Not a bad one in there. The Barid is particularly face-melting. Great job CB.
  4. Almost. In your example, your initial order pool is 2 orders because you are in a Loss of Lieutenant. You use one of those orders to cancel Duroc's Impetuous order. But then, Van Zant deploys using his own order- you can think of AD orders as being assigned to those guys who are off the board, still in the dropship. The orders are there, they just aren't available to the whole army yet. They can be used by those AD troops to deploy, however. So, Van Zant deploys using his own order and as soon as he is on the board, you recover the full order pool you "should" have had at the beginning of the turn, which would be four, minus the one you spent on Duroc's Impetuous, leaving you with three orders to do whatever you want. Now, if you want, you bring on your other AD troops (Margot, in your 200 point list) using her own order. Your whole army is now deployed, and you have three regular orders left that anyone can spend.
  5. You've missed the last paragraph worth of discussion about the Tactical Jump skill: In addition, if the figure possessing Tactical Jump is the Lieutenant, as soon as he is positioned on the game table the situation of Loss of Lieutenant is automatically cancelled. The player recovers the whole Orders Reserve that would have been available, with the exception of Orders spent previously (which can only be one or two). So, you place Van Zant onto the board using the AD:Tactical Jump skill and, since he is the Lieutenant, you recover the full pool of orders. The section that you quoted above would limit the orders available to the rest of the army before Van Zant arrives; once he is on the board, all hell can break loose.
  6. Good gravy. The blues on that Zouave . . . Giraldez is just a MASTER. I haven't had the pleasure of seeing this picture before and maybe that's a good thing because my own Zouave is . . . not quite as good. Back to the ol' drawing board.
  7. Your mixing medium from P3 should work very much the same way as the Vallejo matte medium I mentioned (or GW's "Lahmium Medium" or whatever silly name they've come up with for theirs). And yes- you absolutely want to thin it with water even after you cut the paint with the medium. What you want is very thin, translucent layers- try dipping the tip of your brush in your paint, and then dabbing it once or twice on a piece of paper towel to remove the excess paint; then what you are left with on your brush is a nice, even thin layer of pigment which has a lot of transparency to it. I will usually have to apply two thin coats per "layer" when working up from basecoat to highest highlight. If you don't thin it down, you'll end up both obscuring the details and making the highlight too harsh, which stands out like a sore thumb. It does take some patience, but the results are far superior. The thinner coats do tend to dry faster, too- usually if you are painting a fairly large area (a jacket, a pair of pants, an entire weapon, etc.), by the time you get the whole area painted, you'll be able to go back to where you started and start applying a second coat. Not to toot my own horn or anything (Toot! Toot!), but you can see what I am talking about here in a post I made about a year ago after painting my Nomad Clockmaker. Take a look at his pants- I used precisely the technique I am talking about here, and you can see how the dark green colors the highlights applied over it:
  8. For layering techniques, I have found that using matte medium glazes are definitely the way to go, as adding medium to the color adds translucency, which allows the color underneath the one you are painting to still "shine through," making the transition from shadow to highlight much more subtle. For example: To paint the blue parts of the Merovingian miniatures in a style similar to how Giraldez has painted the studio miniatures, I would start with a dark prussian blue blocked in over the entire area. I'd apply this paint as a mixture of 50% paint, 50% matte medium, and then water it down until it has the consistency of whole milk. Once that basecoat ayer was dry, I'd highlight with a lighter blue, also blended with matte medium and water the same way. This could be applied over the entire area except for any low points or areas that would lie "beneath" the light source (places like the underside of the miniature's rear end, for example). For a final layer of highlights, I'd add a spot of ivory to the lighter blue color, and apply that only to the very highest points on the mini and any edges I'd want to draw attention to. The matte medium mixed into the paint layers allows that dark prussian blue to act as the primary hue for the area; the highlights would still be colored by that under layer, but you'd get subtle transitions to the lighter shades. It's hard to explain in words, but I promise you: matte medium is one of those under-discussed magic bullets that can take your painting to the next level. Good luck!
  9. Family picture time. Great job!
  10. Whenever I have ever seen Achilles, I have alway immediately thought "Fabio!" Does that make me a bad man?
  11. You have some very lucky friends, Magno. First, Cervantes and his Yuan Yuan, and now this. Spectacular. The blending on the robe is particularly well done.
  12. The bases are very, very good. Highly recommended. Delivery can take a while at times, but the bases are great.
  13. I am pretty sure that you answered your own question twice within your question. Yes- throwing the grenade is a BS action. BS actions in ARO require LOS. So, no- another member of your link who does not have LOS to the enemy would not be able to throw smoke to hide your sniper. I find it easiest to sort these types of situations out remembering that all actions take place simultaneously. Your enemy in your situation is shooting your sniper at the same time that your sniper is considering shooting back; there's no time for another member to drop the smoke.
  14. Looking back now at the half-dozen or so Paradiso missions I've made it through, I'd have to say that from a fun gaming standpoint, the campaign was a big disappointment. I really enjoy still reading the fluff and I do like a lot of the new units, but the missions just really aren't that much fun. I think a lot of that has to do with the fact that infinity has such a huge learning curve that jumping into Paradiso after only having played the game for a few months was probably not ideal, too. I have to agree more with Savonarola here, Tevesh. Infinity rules have grown substantially over the three books released. Link teams are almost a rulebook unto themselves, and with all the new rules for tohaa and the steel phallus and dangerous terrain and casevac in Paradiso... Plus all the new weapons that are constantly coming out... It makes a complex game almost overly so.
  15. From the wiki: Structures Some miniatures and vehicles have a STR (Structure) value instead of Wounds. These function similarly to normal miniatures, having Normal, Unconscious, and Dead states. Each time one of these miniatures receives the equivalent of a Wound they lose a point of STR (Causing no ill effect or Modifier) and a Wound Marker is placed beside them. When the number of Wounds received reaches the STRAttribute of the figure, the vehicle or miniature is immobilized and destroyed (An IMM Marker is placed and crew members, if any, are able to get out). If the army does not have a figure with the Special Skill Engineer, any miniature or vehicle with a STR value is removed from the table once destroyed and the crew members have left it.