Nalim

Members
  • Content count

    412
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Time Online

    445d 15h 4m 47s

Community Reputation

370 Excellent

About Nalim

  • Rank
    Mayanaut

ITS

  • ITS PIN M8930

Recent Profile Visitors

1,172 profile views
  1. Well thanks! I overread this bit: "If the troop fails its Guts Roll, it must go Prone or move up to 2 inches in order to abandon the danger zone, gain Cover, or improve its Cover against the attack." So sometimes the "attack" is mentioned as point of reference, sometimes the "attacker". I agree that the only logical conclusion is that the reference point is the point the attacker was when he attacked.
  2. I don't argue that it's not better / wiser for the green trooper to move the way I lined out. I argue that cover is a relative term to the attacker's position and since it's forced movement it is important where the point of reference is. I don't say you're wrong because intuitively I'd play exactly as you described. But since this question that can be game-deciding in a tournament environment I hope for a clear solution based on rules.
  3. While I think that's logical and intuitive, I don't see any rules support for it. Although the rules lack a be-all-end-all definition of the term "danger zone", the examples given make it quite clear what it is: "If the troop is inside a danger zone, such as the Area of Effect of a Special Skill or a weapon that uses a Template or that requires no LoF, it must move up to 2 inches in order to try to exit the danger zone, or declare itself Prone if it can prevent further Attacks that way." Imo the Danger Zone term refers to template weapons and ZoC / No LoF - weapons, not to troopers wielding classical FtF BS weapons. Therefore "moving out of the danger zone" is not a condition that results in the green trooper's desired movement here.
  4. I don't think that helps here - let's look at the wording of the FAQ: "How does the Guts Roll work if the trooper that triggered it falls Unconscious in that Order? Apply the Guts rule normally." The FAQ only says that I need to apply the guts rule, which could also mean the I simply fall prone if the enemy is out of LoF (thanks to falling prone himself for example). I also think it would be logical to go for my second conclusion, but as of now, I don't see any rules supporting either side.
  5. Hi, another tournament, another question we couldn't find a solid answer for - I hope to be more lucky here. Here's the situation (yeah, I suck at Paint): The attacker (red) declares Move to hug cover, establish LoF to the defender (green) and move out of LoF again. The defender declares BS attack, the attacker declares BS attack, too. The attacker wins the FtF roll, but the defender passes the ARM roll. Subsequently, the defender fails the guts roll. Our group was unsure on what happens next and just rolled a dice. It is clear the guts roll rules apply (http://infinitythewiki.com/de/Guts_Roll) but we were unsure about the wording, for example: "If the troop has no Cover against the attack, it must move up to 2 inches in order to obtain Partial Cover or Total Cover against at least one of the enemies who Attacked it, or go Prone." What bugged us was how the wording interacts with a moving attacker and we came to two possible conclusions: The defender seeks cover from the enemy who attacked it. He must seek cover from the spot the attacker is in when he finishes his movement. Since the defender has total cover from him at this point, he needs to go prone instead. The defender seeks cover from the enemy who attacked it. He must seek cover from the spot the attacker is in when he shoots at the defender. Therefore, he moves along the green arrow to obtain partial or total cover. I guess this situation should come up quite often, so what's your solution?
  6. I used the Nexus Lt. Hacker a lot after the release of Onyx. However, now that HSN3 has matured, I generally don't bring him anymore. Thanks to low points and no SWC cost, Killer Hackers are friggin everywhere and while you can technically put him in a link with Tinbot (0.5 SWC) and bring an E-Drone for rerolls (0.5 SWC and a lot of points) in order to guard him well enough, it's mostly not worth the effort. Nowadays, most of my Onyx lists use a Nexus Specialist Operative Lt., in most cases hidden more-or-less-safely in the Unidron link - nothing special, but quite secure although rather obvious. I generally use a Noctifer Hacker in order to hand out supportware and an Umbra Legate HD+ if I'm feeling lucky. Right now, Nexus Specialist Operative is - in my opinion - the only serious Lt. choice. The Noctifer is a little bit safer, but costs more points, SWC and is also extremely obvious because you need to deploy him as a marker. Our Umbra Lt. options are just to squishy for the job. I also rarely use Nullifiers because Onyx already needs to spend one or two orders every turn to get the ARO pieces to full power. Spending a second or third order for additional hacking defense is something I can't afford in most cases.
  7. Thank you all and especially @IJW Wartrader for the clarifications and discussion. For me it's a clear case now, I can follow IJW's logic.
  8. Hi, in a recent tournament a question our meta couldn't answer finally came up, so I'm looking for help here: Active Trooper A is covered in smoke on a rooftop, but currently not in cover. Active Trooper A uses his first short skill to stand up and move into cover, and his second short skill to shoot at Reactive Trooper B. Active Trooper B now declares BS Attack on Reactive Trooper B. He is also declaring that he shoots from the position in cover. Reactive Trooper B declares BS Attack as an ARO. Now comes the point where we didn't find an answer everyone was able to agree to: Can reactive trooper B shoot Active Trooper A while A is out of cover (1)? Or can he only shoot back at Active Trooper A at the position where A shot from (2)? In the end, we decided to go for (2) because it seemed the intuitive way to handle the situation. However, looking at the rules now, I don't see anything that supports (2) and am strongly inclined to say that (1) is the correct option. What do you think? edit: Reactive Trooper B doesn't have MSV2, of course.
  9. The problem with retreat in ITS or especially tournament scenarios is that when you put your opponent in retreat, you mostly don't win as high (points difference) than if your opponent wasn't in retreat. Additionally, since your opponent has the last turn in this case, it's completely possible that you put an opponent in retreat and he wins the game afterwards, especially in those scenarios that favor the second or last game turn. edit: Sorry, I misunderstood you, we are talking about the same thing - putting an opponent in retreat even earlier is a bad thing, that's right.
  10. Then feel free to call in IJWWartrader and the folks at this thread again. I see ToadChild giving an answer and no one (even IJW) even bothering to discuss about it.
  11. To avoid having to perform a Guts Roll is different to not being able to perform a Guts Roll:
  12. Ah, Riot Grrls. This might be one of the few cases where the Sukeul is not the best idea, since because of their MSV they ignore its Mimetism. In order to deal with them, the first thing you should know is that this link is half his army points. This means it's not a defensive link - he'll advance with it to make use of it. In your reactive turn, you could try the extra nasty smoke trick: Put a Kerail (with Mate) on ARO duty; his ARO is to cover the Gao Rael Sniper (but not himself) with Smoke. This way it's not a FTF roll and you've got a 70% chance to succeed. Then use your Mate to ignore damage and simply go prone. If this works and the Nomad player moves his link in sight, always attack the Non-Leader and the link leader won't be able to hit you. Most likely he'll just not move his Riot Grrls this turn anymore, though. Also a success. In your active turn, you need to use range bands or flanking to your advantage. Using range bands means you use your K1s, Viral Combis, Spitfires etc. when you're at +3 and your opponent is at 0 or -3. This way the odds are in your favor. When I talk about flanking, I talk about your Rasail Spitfire with Symbiomate. Thanks to his nanoscreen, he's very often able to attack an enemy out of cover while he himself is still covered by the nanoscreen, again shifting the odds in your favor by 3. Flanking with the Rasail might, in my opinion, be the best strategy. I only played against a Riot Grrl link once so far and it worked very well.
  13. Yeah, that one will work better - however, for anything except kill missions, I'd generelly prefer to use my smoke to reach objectives instead of kill positions, but that's down to personal taste and circumstances.
  14. I don't think Smoke and Gao Rael (I assume you are talking about the Sniper) works that well against fireteams thanks to Sixth Sense L2. In most situations, you'll have three shots on 12s against two shots on 14s (for basic enemy firetimes). That's a little bit too low for an active turn attack imo. However, as you and others pointed out, there are still other viable options against basic fireteams: HMG Sukeul is the most obvious way - five dice on 13 against two dice on 11. That's pretty good odds. Clipsos in good range (which would normally be between 8 and 16 inches because ML troops are likely to carry shotguns) is three dice on 12 against two dice on 5. Also quite good odds. Although killing it with fire is a viable option, if it's the only way, I would just ignore the ML and use the same orders the smoke my way to the objective.