Sabin76

Members
  • Content count

    357
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Time Online

    704d 7h 57m 42s

Community Reputation

228 Excellent

About Sabin76

  • Rank
    Mayanaut
  1. Similar. I'm using the Raicho pilot and the Scindron (have yet to field my Sphinx and B&K together).
  2. I have some unprimed models (my newest purchases). Most of my models are primed but not painted. Only 3 of my models are anything close to what you might call "painted", but they are still works in progress. Nothing's complete. To be fair, most in my meta have fully painted forces, but no one's complained about my jet black force when it hits the table...... well, not about the painting, anyway.
  3. In my quote, no it is definitely not. And that is quite purposeful. There is no game term "check" that is used in this way. You are the one who has insisted that it is something specific that needs to be done at a specific time. Obviously, the player is going to have to actually look at the table at the end of their turn and (colloquially) check to see if they have any Dogged models to remove, but that is only necessary because the Dogged state tells you to remove them when the turn ends. Don't misquote me. Reread the actual language. FYI: Each Player Turn is divided into these steps: <------ clearly defining what is a part of a specific player's turn. Start of the Turn: Tactical Phase Retreat! check Loss of Lieutenant check Order count Impetuous Phase Orders Phase End of the Turn <--------- See this? It happens to still be a part of that players turn. Until you have done everything you need to do during this step, the turn has not ended.
  4. This is ridiculous, as you are the one creating things out of thin air because the rules don't, apparently, tell you you can't. The rules do not tell me that there is a "check Dogged models step" at the end of turn... I am not assuming this. You, however, are. The rules do not tell me to check a model that has the Dogged ability that has not been triggered at the end of the turn... I am not assuming this. You, however, are. The rules do not even tell me to "check" a model that has gone Dogged at the end of turn... I am not assuming this and have revised my wording to make this clear. You, however, are. Perhaps if you could actually tell me which parts I am assuming and how those assumptions aren't supported by the rules, then I can help you understand. Incidentally, the rules DO tell you that a model that has become Dogged at any point during a player's turn is to be removed when that turn ends. If you are still applying things to your troopers at the end of your turn (like Biotechvore), it is still your turn and the cancellation clause for Dogged still applies. But you're right about one thing... I am assuming that I can still reason with you, and that doesn't mean I actually can.
  5. That's because there is no need to. A unit that has not gone Dogged is not checked to see if they are in the Dogged state at the end of the turn. As a matter of fact, you aren't even really "check[ing]... for Dogged units to move to dead" at all. You are simply applying the effects of the state at that time because that what the state literally tells you to do. You mean like I just did (not to mention the several other times the rules text was quoted in the last couple of pages)?
  6. No it isn't, because "the other way" creates a "Check all models for Dogged" step that once you pass you can never go back to. It is very clear and requires no FAQ when you actually read the skill itself that this is not the case.
  7. The scenario has been clarified. There is no defined order for anything happening at the end of the turn, so clearly you shouldn't be making one up. The only possible answer is that they happen "simultaneously" and are resolved like anything else that happens that way. Also, you keep insisting that there is some kind of "Check for Dogged step" at the end of the turn. This is also not supported at all in the rules. Models are checked individually for effects that last until the end of the turn. If, in the process of going through these end-of-turn checks, a model happens to become Dogged, they are doing so on that same turn... and must be removed when you bother check that particular model for Dogged.
  8. This I didn't know, as where it came from wasn't indicated in the original post. I stand corrected.
  9. Well, those were two independent photos that were then 'shopped into each other, weren't they? There's also the fact that the base on the old sculpt is apparently much smaller than it should be (and if it isn't, the problem with the comparison is jarringly obvious), which makes the comparison even harder. Like I said, it could be right ("not necessarily", remember?), but until the two models are side-by-side in the same shot, we won't know how they really compare.
  10. I think the point was to get a comparison of the scale, which that doesn't necessarily show very well.
  11. I respectfully disagree with you on this point. The Targeted MOD is quite unambiguously the +3 granted from the Targeted state. If that is "included" in the BS+6 for Guided then that means that it is already a part of it, not that you don't apply it at all. I read it as, "The +6 from Guided already includes the +3 from Targeted, so you don't apply it again." Not, "Guided gives a +6, and you ignore the +X (X = 3 or 0) from the Targeted state depending on whether the target is a trooper or not, respectively." Personally, I don't care which way this ends up going, but it seems like IJW has laid out the intent of the interaction and I can see that side of the argument a little more clearly than I see the other side.
  12. Guided does, indeed, say that it only requires the "target" to be in the "Targeted" state. However, in the parenthetical immediately after that, it refers to the MOD from being Targeted, which would not apply in this situation. So either guided gets a +3 MOD instead of a +6 (subtracting the MOD from being targeted), or the attack cannot happen through implication due to Targeted not having any effect on a non-trooper and also the instructions from the Targeted specifically calling out troopers (and only troopers) as being valid targets for weapons with the Guided trait. I think a key point to make is that both Guided and Targeted give instructions on who can be a target of a weapon with the Guided trait and still get the benefits of that trait. One, however, is more restricted than the other. I believe the case IJW is making is that the more restrictive case should be the one you use.
  13. But there is no effect that states this. As a matter of fact, there is nothing about the end of turn itself that forces you to do any checks at all if there is nothing to check. That's the problem with your line of thinking. In order to come to the conclusions you are, you have to assume there is some order to resolving global "end of turn" effects (i.e. check Biotechvore, then check Dogged, then check... ). This is certainly unsupported in the rules. There are no global checks for anything. Models enter states that have a duration that lasts for the rest of the turn. Biotechvore is no different, it's just that a model only triggers it if it's within a certain area of the map. As @ToadChild said last page, you must check all effects and in any order you want. This is absolutely supported by the rules. There is no other way to do it. Why? Because doing everything simultaneous, as you point out, will result in "little trouble". Whereas, if you decide on some arbitrary order (because the rules don't tell you not to) that isn't tied to models, you get conflicting resolutions. That's what I mean by the rules breaking down. That's why it must be the other way.
  14. Really? OK, then. I have a Dogged model. End of turn triggers, it dies. But that's the end of my turn so no other end of turn things happen. All my models that I decided not to move out of Biotechvore are fine and so are those two other models that are Dogged because I did an end of turn trigger and since the rules don't tell me it's NOT instantaneous (in fact, they do... see @DukeEarl's post above) I can magically decide that my end of turn has happened and we move on. Or even more ridiculous... my end of turn arrives, but it's an instant, so I have no time to resolve any triggers, so we move on. See? The rules break down if you treat the end of your turn as an instant. I'll say it again, because this is apparently hard: The end of turn is a period of time where any and all "end of turn" effects must be resolved. The important point is that anything that gets applied during this time (like, say, Dogged from Biotechvore...) is still applied on (the end of) your turn, and therefore must be resolved during this same period of time.
  15. No, they really aren't. "End of turn" is not an instant in time, because the rules would break down if it were. The only way to resolve "end of turn" effects (note the plural) is to resolve all of them until you have no more to resolve. Note, also, that "end of turn" effects are pretty unambiguous about which turn they refer to... so I'm not really seeing at all where you are coming from.