Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'engage'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Universalia. Maya in general
    • Maya news
    • Reports From The Front
    • Infinity news
    • Users
    • Infinity Events and Tournaments
  • VissioRama. Commercial channel
    • Antenocitis Workshop
    • Bandua Wargames
    • Battle Foam
    • Customeeple
    • Information From Distributors and Shops
    • Micro Art Studio
    • Plast Craft Games
    • Warsenal
    • Luxumbra
  • Sabot! Your war channel in Maya
    • Online Events
    • Rules of Engagement
    • Campaign: Paradiso
    • Infinity Tournament System (ITS)
    • Infinity Army
    • N2 Archive
  • Vergilius. Personal assistant
    • Access Guide to the Human Sphere.
    • PanOceania
    • Yu Jing
    • Ariadna
    • Haqqislam
    • Nomads
    • Combined Army
    • Mercenary Market
    • ALEPH
    • Tohaa
  • Fussion. The artistic channel
    • Miniatures
    • Fan Art
    • It has been written...
    • Arcologies
  • Arachne. Out of Maya
    • The Bouboutique of the Caravansary

Found 12 results

  1. Hello, after saving up for several games, I have a few questions that I hope the board can help me with. 1: This is more of an ITS question, but what is the general (fair) protocol for a player conceding in the middle of a game? Points as they stand? Max points for other player, while zero for player that quits? Points the player can likely score in their remaining turns? 2: Last night we had a Asura hacker attempt to Redrum a Ninja Killer Hacker from a short distance away and within line of sight. Ninja responds with an “Engage.” Engage as written says that the player “dodges” ALL attacks. Does this mean that Engage acts just as the “Dodge” skill including movement, or can an Engage be used to nullify hacking attacks, unlike Dodge? I was using my book last night, but online I see that the word “dodges” is hyperlinked to the entry for Dodge, so that probably clears it up. 3: The old Netrod disperses into terrain question. (I saw this has been brought up before.) Netrod disperses somewhere it can't be placed. It follows the rules for troopers using Advanced Deployment, but as it is equipment, should be destroyed if it leaves the table. Following all these rules, ends with the Netrod placed on the border of the deployment zone. Is there a better ruling on this? 4: Hack Transport Aircraft. We debated about this a bit last night. I was under the impression that the FtF roll of hacker's WP vs. jumper's PH was the same as the jumper's usual normal roll. But others thought that it was a FtF roll followed by a second roll for the deployment if the first was not successfully hacked. Are there one or two rolls here? 5: When using Climb or Climbing Plus, is there any need to move in a straight line? Can a figure use the Climb skill to move horizontally across a wall instead of vertically? Do you have to move upwards or downwards at all? Thanks
  2. We had a complex situation in a Yu-Jing versus Combined Army game yesterday, playing the Highly Classified scenario. We managed amicably enough, but it did swing the game and there were too many rules we weren't really familiar enough with to be sure of what should have happened. The whole situation was a bit of a mess, with all kinds of difficulties that probably shouldn't have arisen at all, but the difficulty is really that we couldn't straighten much of it out afterwards - perhaps some kind person give us some definitive answers, please? Ok, so the venerable Dr Worm (Med-tech Obsidon Mechanoid) B was neatly ensconced between a pair of trusty Slave Drones B1 and B2, until sneaky, low-down Tiger Soldier A dropped in behind the building, and spent an Order moving around the building into position for a cheap, unwarranted attack on the Good Doctor. It turned out that we were unclear about a lot of the rules we were encountering, and the errors we made early on got passed through to things that came up later until we descended into the Order From Hell. My opponent had Tiger A declare Short Order: Move and judged a peek-and-pie-slice to get under Dr Worm's facing, shoot, then move back (to the shadows, where he belongs) I thought he'd judged it about right, and decided to have Slave B1 (bravely) declare an Engage with Close Combat Electric Pulse* Tiger A declared Short Order: Shoot with Light Flamethrower to toast the entire group (and they'll be first against the wall when Humanity is subverted, the EI will see to that!) We went to Resolution, measured out Line of Fire, the Engage distance** and the flamer template positioning. Yu Jing had judged Tiger A's move really nicely: the flamer template could cover all its targets and the unit was indeed below Dr Worm B's facing; but Combined was also within B1's Engage range. * We presumed that Dr Worm B and Slave B1 could both have ARO's, but must both declare the same skill. Since I judged that Tiger A would indeed be beneath Dr Worm B's line of fire, I figured I could only Change Facing, whereas because Slave B1 had line of fire, I should choose ARO: Engage. Question 1) Was the presumption that Combined could choose only one ARO for all the units correct? ** When we came to read the rules for Engage we discovered that ARO: Engage is resolved a bit differently to other measurements, and that we should've measured it out after the ARO declaration and before the Yu Jing player declared his second Short Skill. This would've helped us understand stuff that happened later, but as it was we didn't realise its importance at the time, and blithely played on. Filed under: "it didn't seem important at the time, m'Lord". The rules for Engage also say The user must pass a Normal or Face to Face PH Roll in order to successfully Engage. So because the Tiger's Flamethrower is a template weapon and doesn't require a BS roll, we decided the Slave should make an unopposed PH roll to see if it successfully Engaged; which roll it passed. Question 2) Did we at least get this bit correct? This meant Slave B1 was now in base contact with Tiger A at the point where it was nearest, but since the Tiger had skulked back to it's original place (in the dank shadows where it belongs) that was more than twice as far as the Engage that'd been less than the allowed 2"/50mm. We figured that either the Slave should transfix the Tiger at the point where it made the Engage, or that it should be sucked along in the Tiger's wake to finish where the Tiger's move ended. This last now seems utterly ridiculous, bu it was what I'd Been Told By A Warcor™ so we went with that. I know, right? Question 3) What should we have done for positioning both units after the successful Engage, please? Then Combined made ARM rolls for Slave B1, Dr Worm B and Slave B2 against the flamethrower's Damage - Doctor Worm B died; and Slaves B1 and B2 went Unconscious L1. Someone said 'because its Controller (Dr Worm, B ) had died' B2 should also be removed from the game, but even though B1 was in the same state (ie. Controller-less) he had Electric Pulse business to sort out with Tiger A, and whether we should or shouldn't have applied the removal, we ... er, forgot. We then also couldn't find any reference that supported the idea that the Slaves had to be removed - and this wasn't even an idea that I'd Been Told By A Warcor™! So Question 4) were we correct to remove B2, and should we have also removed B1 likewise - at the end of the Order, after his CC/Electric Pulse was resolved? Then we totally lost our minds, and decided that the Tiger should make a Face To Face roll against the Electric Pulse automatic roll of 7 using its CC attribute of 15, and at last the Order From Hell was finally ended. And we now believe this FtF CC was wrong, because reading the rules, the Engage distance is measured out before Resolution as I noted earlier and reason that in this sort of situation, it gives the active player a chance to maybe use a CC attack if their opponent's ARO: Engage works out as it did here - which kudos to Gutier and the boys, is an absolutely beautiful piece of representational game design - if only we'd presumed on their wisdom and forethought, eh? So Question 5) Are we now correct to think that Combined had an unopposed roll (using an automatic 7) and would've therefore Immobilised the Tiger? We both then took a well-earned break, and came back to the game with our hubris fully recharged to double down on the nonsense of the previous Order and bollocks-up the next one too! So then Yu Jing declared his next Order, and did a Coup de Grace on Slave B1 to clinch a vital point in the game... but we couldn't find the rules for whether it's even possible to do that. Of course, we're now not sure the Slave should even have been on the table at this point (Question 4), and feel that anyway the Tiger was almost certainly Immobilised (Question 5), but anyway Question 6) is a Slave Drone a legal target for Coup de Grace? Go easy on us - it wasn't a pinnacle of rules-compliance, but had a great game; and remember that Rules References Get Upvotes, thank you!
  3. We ran into this really niche weird situation that arose a few questions last night and wanted to know two things. Here's the actual examples in play: Question 1 Maghariba approaches an Oniwaban during the active turn. The Oniwaban fails to engage as ARO, revealing himself, and Maghariba succeeds in its dodge, moving back into the smoke grenade. Maghariba activates again and moves completely out of the smoke grenade onto the other side. Maghariba will be visible when she leaves the smoke grenade. When can the Oniwaban take his ARO? Does this mean she has been "out of the smoke grenade" the entire movement, or is LoF only drawn when she leaves the smoke? Because her model didn't walk through the smoke-- just orbited the core of it and moved alongside the outside while still being fully visible to the closest piece-- we had a hard time with this. What we decided we would do since "everything happens simultaneously" is that the Oniwaban could declare engage since Maghariba had left smoke and therefore was "never in it." I'm pretty sure this is incorrect but we couldn't figure out the answer to this question. Question 2 At this point Maghariba knew she had moved 8 inches away from the Oniwaban (2" dodge + 6" move) so she chose to fire. However, the Oniwaban was slightly forward and Maghariba did not move her perfect 6 inch movement due to player error. The distance between them was 7.9 inches at the start. The Oniwaban attempted to shoot back, cancelling her shots, hitting her and doing no damage. The Maghariba rolled Guts to stay out and succeeded in order to continue to harass the Oniwaban. Now instead of measuring from the front of the base, the Maghariba decided to shoot from the side of their base while moving. Due to Maghariba's large base size, this gave him the 8"+ distance and he went from his -3 range band to the 0, giving him the advantage. Can you do this? When you fire, when do you decide what side of the base you're firing from? Can you measure, then decide which side of the base you fire from? Do you have to declare what vector of your base you are firing from? Can you fire from the back arc of your base in order give +1" distance on shots you might think are too close? (360 LoF during movement confuses me...) We were trying to figure out how this works. If you read this, thanks! If you've got answers, please share! Inquiring minds want to know!
  4. Hi all I play Yu Jing, and was thinking of ninjas/oniwabans and how combat works around them. so here follows a couple of questions surrounding camo, ARO's and engaging an enemy: Scenario 1: I have an infiltrated TO:camo marker within 3" of my opponent. I activate my marker, first short skill is I move into base contact with him. Since I am touching him, I am revealed, so he can declare a shoot ARO (assuming I moved within his LoF). My second short skill is I hit him with my sword. Question 1: If the shoot action kills me, can I still perform my CC attack? And further, I assume it would still be a Face to Face roll in CC, since no ARO is needed to "gain" a face to face roll in CC. Scenario 2: Same as above, but I start 6" away from my opponent. First short skill I move within 2" of him, inside his LoF. If I understand correctly he can either detect or delay. So he delays. My second short skill is I move into CC with him. Now we end up with the effectively the same scenario as above, except I don't get to perform a CC attack. Question 2: is this correct? Scenario 3: I moved my TO:camo marker to within 2" behind my opponent (outside his LoF). His turn, he activates his guy, and first short order is to turn around. I get to perform a ARO, I dodge. So If I am successful with my dodge, I can engage him. Question 3: Are his only options for his second short skill to: Move or Detect? I assume he cannot attack me since I am still in TO:camo state. Even though I MIGHT contact him with a successful dodge and thus reveal my camo marker. Scenario 4: My TO:camo marker is behind my opponent (outside his LoF). My first short skill is I move into base to base with him. I assume he cannot make any ARO. I get revealed and proceed to hit him with my sword. Question 4: What are his modifiers to his CC face to face roll? I assume -6 for surprise shot/attack. I assume TO:camo doesn't work in CC. Are there any other modifiers, say for engaging him in his back arc? Not counting Martial arts. Scenario 5: I have a camo marker with smoke grenades. I am within 4" of him, in his LoF. My first short skill is to throw the smoke grenade onto him. Intending to use my second short skill to move into base contact with him. I assume throwing the smoke grenade breaks my camo status. Therefore he is able to ARO, for instance shoot. Lets say he shoots. Further assume that neither of us have any MSV visors. Question 5: If my smoke grenade hits, does he loose his shoot ARO? Question 5.1: Is it good to play the scenario as stated above, or would it be better to move in BtB first, and then "special dodge smoke"? Does it make a difference? Question 5.2: Lets assume my smoke hits. This means that I am unable to declare my second short skill a shoot action against the same target. Even though the entire order happens "at the same time"? I assume it works like this, but was just wondering. Any insight or clarification would be greatly appreciated. Cheers
  5. If a unit starts their movement out of LoF but in range to engage, and ends their movement in LoF but outside the range of engage, can the reactive trooper legally engage?
  6. So in reactive turn fireteam must decide upon 1 ARO otherwise it will break/some people will get kickout of the link. What happens if we have a 3 man link (A,B,C) and there is enemy attacking with DTW. A decides to engage (he's within 2'' of attacking model). B decides to dodge (under template, facing attacker, outside 2'') C decides to change facing They all are "kinda of doding" but the AROs are not "exactly" same. Is link broken ? Is only 1 model out of the link ?
  7. Hey guys, I've been out of the game for some time due to real life getting hectic. Trying to get back into it now and figure out how all the changes impact things! Had a question come up today that seemed really basic, but couldn't find a definite answer. If a camo marker is moving on its Active Turn, can it move through/past an enemy figure or marker? I know if a figure is moving, it can't choose to go base to base with a marker. If a marker is moving, it CAN choose to go base to base with a figure. If you have a figure moving through a marker, and the camo troop does not ARO, nothing happens (was this example only in 2nd ed?). If a camo marker is moving through a figure, are they forced to go base to base into an engaged state?
  8. As the title says, I ask because the very first entry for Martial Arts just says the trooper must be in B2B contact, if that's the case and I'm told Dodge Engage won't apply the benefits, think about this, if the active model charges an enemy and the opponent opts to dodge away, the second short skill declared is CC using MA3, but technically they never engaged...
  9. We're having a hard time sorting out if you can Engage as an ARO with a link team. We're all very confused reading what a linked team can and cannot do, and it seems like they can pile on in an Engage ARO.
  10. After the previous two threads concerning Engage, there are some rules interactions that could cause some problems, but I stopped to think "Are they actually allowed?" When a reactive model declares Engage and the distance is found to be valid, the active model is considered to be Engaged enough that it's allowed to declare close combat attacks against the engaging model. Is the active model still allowed to continue moving with its second skill? On the side, if the active model isn't allowed to declare further movement, it makes Engage really good at slowing down objective rushes and the like. On the other side, if the active model is allowed to declare further movement, then you end up with situations like the Trap Door Preta, which runs around hoping to goad enemy models into trying to engage it, so that it can drag them up onto walls: 1. Preta vs. close combat guy - Preta activates and fires chain rifle - close combat guy declares engage to dodge the attack and tie up the model - Preta declares move to climb up the wall located conveniently less than six inches away. Result: Close combat guy is now helpless when the preta decides to attack later. 2. Preta vs. biker - Preta activates and fires chain rifle at biker - biker declares engage, to try to dodge the attack and tie up the model - Preta declares move to climb up the wall located conveniently less than six inches away. Result: Biker's ARO nullified so it's automatically hit. "Next time think carefully before following a Lasiq up a wall!" is one thing. But this is "Beware declaring Engage against a Climbing Plus model's first skill."
  11. Just been reading up on misc rules and found this entry as the last in the boxed text: "Any rules, Traits, special skills, etc. that would apply a MOD to a Dodge attempt also apply to this common skill" So would this mean, that Kinematika distence modifiers and Hyperdynamics mods also apply? Or do I read as a Lawyer?
  12. Hello one and all I'm completely new to these forums and forums in general so if I commit any deadly sins please go easy on me. The issue for today is all about the skill engage and how it behaves. So, I would like to get some clarification on a few examples that got tossed around in a argument I had with a very good friend of mine. 1) Say a Yuan Yuan chooses to engage a Kum biker 2" away. The Kum biker decides he ain't about CC and moves away his full 8" making him 10" away from the Yuan Yuan. Does that mean that the Yuan Yuan gets to move 10" so he can be in BtB if he passed his PH test (assuming no AROs from elsewhere)? In addition to this the engage rule says it follows the "general rules of movement" which says that the "Mov values indicate the maximum distance the unit can move" (P61 core rule book) so wouldn't this mean the above chase isn't possible as theYuan Yuan Mov is 4-4, so even if he got to make a 'move-move' action as part of engage he still would be 2" short? or is it that the Yuan Yuan moves his 2" first to get BtB and then gets 'dragged' along thus conveniently ignoring his max move? Or some secret option C that I can't think of? 2) Its that pesky Yuan Yuan again, this time he's punching above his weight class and hunting for Dog-Warriors. (same 2" starting distance) The Dog-warrior figures he has bigger fish to chainrifle and decides to super jump 6" up a building. However, that Yuan Yuan is very insistent and passes his PH test again. Does that mean the the Yuan Yuan learns to fly and ends up in BtB with the Dog Warrior on top of the building? 3) this time less of an example and more general theory say a Yuan Yuan wants to chase a SAS through some heavy woodland thus slowing down the Yuan Yuan while the SAS is unaffected. Does anything different happen? These were the most major concerns raised. I would be very grateful if this could be cleared up.