Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'movement'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Universalia. Maya in general
    • Maya news
    • Reports From The Front
    • Infinity news
    • Users
    • Infinity Events and Tournaments
  • VissioRama. Commercial channel
    • Antenocitis Workshop
    • Bandua Wargames
    • Battle Foam
    • Customeeple
    • Information From Distributors and Shops
    • Micro Art Studio
    • Plast Craft Games
    • Warsenal
    • Luxumbra
  • Sabot! Your war channel in Maya
    • Online Events
    • Rules of Engagement
    • Campaign: Paradiso
    • Infinity Tournament System (ITS)
    • Infinity Army
    • N2 Archive
  • Vergilius. Personal assistant
    • Access Guide to the Human Sphere.
    • PanOceania
    • Yu Jing
    • Ariadna
    • Haqqislam
    • Nomads
    • Combined Army
    • Mercenary Market
    • ALEPH
    • Tohaa
  • Fussion. The artistic channel
    • Miniatures
    • Fan Art
    • It has been written...
    • Arcologies
  • Arachne. Out of Maya
    • The Bouboutique of the Caravansary

Found 22 results

  1. Movement says: A trooper can vault over any obstacle not higher than his Silhouette Template (as determined by his Silhouette Attribute) at no cost, without declaring Jump or Climb. And Motorcycle says: Troopers mounted on a Motorcycle cannot go Prone. Troopers mounted on a Motorcycle cannot Climb. Troopers mounted on a Motorcycle cannot Jump vertically or diagonally upward, they can only Jump horizontally (as in Jump Example 3) and vertically or diagonally downward. Does this mean motorbike can wheelee onto things up to its hight? Or space-hydraulics to hop over it like Knight Rider? Also, does climbing through windows (glassless) generally considered as Vault action?
  2. Question 1: Does it cost movement for a trooper to "mount a wall" as part of climbing a ladder, or coming up over the edge of a ladder/wall the trooper is climbing? Question 2: Can a trooper gain the benefit of cover in from ARO's at the top of a ladder/end of a climb, if the distance between it and the edge of the surface the trooper is climbing is less than the trooper's base? I'm seeing some confusing examples regarding movement on vertical surfaces. I became curious after seeing this RECON! video, when Ash's Nisse climbs up the crate, and based on the cover bonus in the subsequent ARO, appeared to automatically gain the benefit of cover from the smaller crate on top. I would have thought there would be a point where the Nisse is not considered in cover, allowing the ARO an easier shot. The climb rules complicate things further, as in one of the example images, the trooper spends no movement to put his base completely against the vertical surface, as shown in the general movement rules. This is confusing, as it seems to me that he would have to spend movement equal to the diameter of its base, unless it can magically pop on and off the wall.
  3. An opponent of mine told me that dodging can only be done in response to an attack. I was under the assumption that I could roll PH, move 2 inches or go prone or mount a motorcycle or all of the related things you can do as a part of a Movement etc etc even if the ARO-provoking model chose to not open fire on me. I was informed that if my opponent 'psyches me out' by making me declare Dodge they can then do whatever they like and as long as they don't declare an attack, I don't get to go prone, or move 2 inches away, or behind cover, or anything. Specifically, I have to be shot at to benefit from the 2 inch movement of Dodge. Moreover along with this I was denied a smoke special dodge because my opponent moved, I declared Smoke dodge, and then they moved again-- directly into base to base. I wasn't allowed to move my 2 inches or to drop a smoke template because 'dodge allows you to make a face to face roll to evade one or more enemy attacks, so if there are zero enemies attacking you, you don't get to dodge..." So, if an enemy-- let's say, a non-camo state Oniwaban-- moves into LoF of a Magister Knight, and the Magister Knight declares Dodge, the Oniwaban can declare Move again and I don't get to roll PH to Dodge as he isn't the target of an attack. So if the Oniwaban can move into B2B I effectively don't get an ARO and I don't get to contest that with BS before he enters CC, and moreover, if he barely makes it with his 4"-4" movement, tough luck cupcake, the Magister Knight doesn't get to move the 2" away that would have spared him starting the next order in B2B with the Oniwaban. Is this correct? I would like some clarification if possible. Thanks for reading!
  4. Myself and friend @MeVz took up the game in October, but have since had a lot of difficulties trying to get rules straight within our play-group; especially measuring for movement. So we devised this video (here in it’s third incarnation …) "Infinity - Measuring for Movement" to try to establish some baselines about what we think players are obliged to do, and what is and isn’t in the rules To paraphrase, we’ve suggested that to be rules-compliant, players must at very least clearly declare their intentions, specify their entire route precisely, and estimate all those distances and positions before they can use a measuring tape. A lot of the opposition to that notion has been pettifogging and discursive arguments that estimates are not always necessary or desirable, and that they slow the game down, etc. So we leaned heavily on that word ‘estimate’ throughout (which critical sense I think the translators missed), and try to distinguish what’s actually in the rules, leaving the rest to the viewer to decide. Feedback from previewers so far is that we didn’t address some common situations, such as how the opponent interacts with player declarations - how they can assist with decisions by providing Line of Fire information, or perhaps their own estimates about Zone of Control, etc. Our apologies for this, because we had included it the first version we shot, which was a two-hander with myself and MeVZ playing together, and staging situations like that. We evolved it into the monologue version we’ve published here, and which is intended to discuss only the active player’s obligations. Perhaps viewers think we do still need to cover it? Otherwise, and if the community generally think it’s accurate and representative enough, we can have portions of it subtitled to clarify the situation here for native Japanese speaking players, and leave it up on YouTube to be discovered at need. We could shoot a second video that covers FAQ type situations. What do people think, please? https://youtu.be/e1ZvEsuDCA0
  5. Came up in the German forums:
  6. Ok so my friends and I are new to the game and I know I've done my part for reading as much rules as I could but I keep getting hung up on one reacurring situation. My opponent in the active turn declares a short move, in that short move they cross open ground but end in base contact with cover. I declare an ARO as I saw them pass open ground. I know that as long as I see them at some point I can shoot but do they get the bonus of cover even though i saw them out of cover?
  7. Out of curiosity has anyone come up with a definition for what constitutes a "vertical" surface for the purposes of declaring a climb. At what gradient does that hill become a cliff? Or are we still supposed to agree before game?
  8. Out of curiosity has anyone come up with a definition for what constitutes a "vertical" surface for the purposes of declaring a climb. At what gradient does that hill become a cliff? Or are we still supposed to agree before game?
  9. Unit A and B both have movement 4-4 and are standing 3" away from each other. Unit A is active and has the dire wish of closing to base contact with Unit B so that the dance of blades can begin. Unit A commits and declares Move, measures and moves into base contact... Can Unit B, in ARO, declare Move so as to backpedal and maintain his distance from Unit A and avoid close combat?
  10. If two enemy troopers are positioned close to one another, can the active player simply declare that a trooper in Total Cover moves into the space between the two enemy models' LOFs in order to avoid taking multiple AROs? Another way to put it: If two reactive models are on the same horizontal plane, and are the same height as the active figure (probably S2), simple geometry says that since the two LOFs are converging, there will always be a space wherein triggering only one ARO is possible, no matter how narrow that space might be; is the intent to move into that narrow space enough, or must the active player place the model where he intends, and leave declaration of AROs to the reactive player? And here's an example of what I'm talking about... can the active (blue) player simply state he's moving to target B, and not A, or must he place the model and let the reactive player declare AROs?: And here's a more extreme example of the same thing, where the space is tighter: If declaration of the intent to isolate enemy models is enough, then triggering multiple AROs will only happen when reactive figures are at varying heights (and perfectly aligned), or when the active player wants to. We've discussed it to death in another thread; I'm only looking for an official ruling.
  11. So, I am a combined army player, and I have these lovely exploding gaki. Now explode triggers when a model would take a wound from an attack that renders him unconscious. Let's say it's my active turn, and the first part of my order is short movement skill move. An enemy with combi rifle shoots me, stating he shoots me where I originally was at the start of my movement. Let's say I dodge, fail, and he hits me, causing me to explode. Where do I explode? At the end of my movement, or where he shot me (stating that he shot me at the beginning of my movement). Now to continue along this path, what if instead of dodging, the second part of my order was short movement skill move. I'm killed by the combi rifle still, where do I explode? Finally, Lets say my opponent has a grenade that he would like to ARO with. I move up. He says he targets me with a grenade at where I started moving. I move again with the final part of my order. Where does the template go? Where I end my movement, or where he targeted me with the grenade?
  12. Has the question about tags movement and buildings been solved? I'm referring to this topic: So, can a tag vault over a lower building? If yes, what happens if the tag's movement isn't enough to completely clear the obstacle's length? thank you
  13. The rulebook states the following concerning movement on page 61: "You can measure immediately after declaring Move and before determining where the trooper ends his Movement. The sequence of events would be: Move declaration, clarifying the direction and the intention of the trooper's final location, measuring, and declaration of the real movement's ending point. The first sentence means that I declare a movement, then measure. However, the second sentence states a specific order of actions that seemingly contradicts it. It states, that measurement comes only after declaring the route and end point of the model that moves. Which is it? Do we measure movement, then declare the final point, or declare the final point and route, then measure? The language is very ambiguous here.
  14. Thing 1. A model using the Move common skill must have its base fully in contact with the surface over which he his moving.** I may be taking this too literally but, let's my Zhanshi is getting his butt across the street, chop chop, and he comes to the curb, and does not have enough movement to fully clear the curb so that his entire base would be on the sidewalk. Does this mean I cannot prop the mini up on the sidewalk? Does this also prevent me from moving a mini beyond any ledge, be it a sidewalk or a rooftop without wall/parapet? Thing 2. _ | | | | | |[ x] So my mini, [ x], is about to climb this building. As we all know, we follow the General Movement rules when climbing.* Those rules allow our minis to vault over obstacles**. If [ x]'s silhouette is taller than the ledge at the top of the building, can I vault over it to get on the roof? [ x] <'Gotcha Sucka!' | | | | | | Or not? *p. 53 ** Move p. 60, 61
  15. From N3-p61: allied troopers, and only allied, whose Silhouette Attribute be equal or inferior to the trooper’s Silhouette Attribute does not block his Movement. Does Inferior refer to height or Silhouette number?. In other words can S2 walk through everything except S6-S8?
  16. I am curious. How many of you have lost or believe you were at a huge disadvantage, because most of your models move 4-2? I rarely need to mov-mov and when I do, an extra 2in would be wasted. I rarely even move move the first turn. Is there something I'm not understanding? The only time I feel my 4-2 is at a disadvantage, is when they have something that can move 6+ on the first move. Even then, 4-4 doesn't help me flank my opponent unless I risk my cover. tl;dr Why is 4-2 so bad?
  17. Hello again. Got a question about close combat. Can you declare your short skills as you would normally, as in movement skill first, then wait for ARO, then declare CC? By my understanding in CC even in active turn your movement skill becomes a dodge because you can't disengage from CC without dodging or beating the enemy, which then becomes a short skill instead of short movement skill meaning you no longer can't declare CC as your second short skill. Am I anywhere near how this is supposed to go?
  18. As the thread title indicates, I'm looking for a link to the official answer we got some time ago on behalf of the quantum jump/quantum climb discussion we had about a year ago. I know, the actual ruling but am looking for a reference for the German forums and the answer we got from CB isn't included in the wiki... For those who aren't sure, what I'm talking about: Climb (on top of a building) + Shoot while failing the Climb roll. Yes, you can shoot and get all AROs, even though you failed your Climb roll.
  19. Hey folks, we had an interesting question in the german forums and while I have doubt about the possible answers I though I throw it in here for you to chew on it. It´s about the movement under retreat conditions: The rules state the following: I bolded the part where the question turned up: what exactly does "every move" mean: We know that it doesn´t mean the second short skill of the impetuous move as the retreat shuffle is totally legal but what about every other order spent for a regular movement? 1)Can you shuffle around and then use a regular order to move forward? 2)Can you shuffle around and then move only backwards with your regular orders? 3)Can you suppress the impetuous-retreat and only then move forwards with a regular order? We always played it like option 1) as we thought the "every move" part only refers to the impetuous-retreat movement but now i have doubts :/ especially as it makes it incredibly hard to score some points once in retreat if you are only allowed to move backwards with every move.
  20. The Aswang is the best Shasvastii LT, bar none. Camo, combi rifle, ADHL, Protheion... We can glue a HI from camo, come over, gain 2 wounds and slink back into camo. It's awesome. And Aswangs have AVA 5 in sectorial. All's awesome, so why not use it? BECAUSE THERE'S NO FREAKING COMBI ASWANG MODEL. I assume that any Shasvastii player worth their seed proxies/converts theirs from a BS model, but since CB seems to think that a spitfire one is more important than THE LT it's time to make our opinion known. WE NEED AN ASWANG MINI WITH A COMBI OR AN ADHL. Really. Pretty please with a fresh liver on top?
  21. Hi! Is it possible to have a link team member voluntary leave the zoc of the leader (and be removed from the link team) as part of a link teams move action? Ex: During the last order of my turn I want to split my team of Magister Knights, spreading them out into good positions and so that they will gain their impetuous orders on my next turn. This will have a few of the knights actively move to leave the zoc of the link leader.
  22. One of the off-shoots of the Guts Roll FAQ discussion: - Do movement modifiers stack? Yes. All movement modifiers stack. For example a model failing it's Guts Roll moves up to half it's first MOV value into better cover, but if the model was prone as well it would instead move up to a quarter of it's first MOV value. So a prone model in terrain that halves it's movement (for example HI in difficult terrain) will be moving at 1/4 speed. While ARO Dodges or Guts Roll moves would be 1/8 the first MOV value. Moral of the story - don't fall over in the jungle...