Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'stealth'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Universalia. Maya in general
    • Maya news
    • Reports From The Front
    • Infinity news
    • Users
    • Infinity Events and Tournaments
  • VissioRama. Commercial channel
    • Antenocitis Workshop
    • Bandua Wargames
    • Battle Foam
    • Customeeple
    • Information From Distributors and Shops
    • Micro Art Studio
    • Plast Craft Games
    • Warsenal
    • Luxumbra
  • Sabot! Your war channel in Maya
    • Online Events
    • Rules of Engagement
    • Campaign: Paradiso
    • Infinity Tournament System (ITS)
    • Infinity Army
    • N2 Archive
  • Vergilius. Personal assistant
    • Access Guide to the Human Sphere.
    • PanOceania
    • Yu Jing
    • Ariadna
    • Haqqislam
    • Nomads
    • Combined Army
    • Mercenary Market
    • ALEPH
    • Tohaa
  • Fussion. The artistic channel
    • Miniatures
    • Fan Art
    • It has been written...
    • Arcologies
  • Arachne. Out of Maya
    • The Bouboutique of the Caravansary

Found 20 results

  1. McMurrough throws a smoke grenade onto a fireteam: Haris of 3 Morats who are all within 2" of eachother. It covers all of them. In a new order, he then uses Stealth to enter B2B. Nobody gets AROs, even the guy he came into B2B with thanks to Stealth. McMurrough then attacks with his Templar CCW. The Morat he's attacking now gets an ARO, they choose to attack, yada yada yada. Then... Am I correct in assuming that none of the Morats have LoF to the AROs so they can't do anything but Change Facing, Alert or scream in terror? I guess if they don't take AROs they can Warning! at the end of turn after McMurrough strikes the enemy and change their facing (but it doesn't matter because facing is essentially irrelevant when inside of a smoke grenade when no one on the table has MSV). Or are there other options that you can do when trapped in a smoke grenade with a meleeist? I played my first game of Caledonia (ever) versus my friend's Morat Aggression Force and my opponent didn't like McMurrough using Stealth to get into B2B and rip apart his fireteam so easily. But my main army is PanO, so having things like capable CC with Smoke means it's pretty much the first time ever I've gotten to use it more than once a game (and the first time ever I've used it 7 times in a row... god bless Galwegians and god bless McMurrough), and I am still learning the rules for Smoke and Extremely Impetuous and things like that. I'm used to having like, one Impetuous guy and maybe a frenzied Knight and just winging it, but now I'm juggling like 6 of them, so... Sidetrack: Honestly, he should have had me as all 3 Morats were Suppressive Firing on McMurrough from 6" while surrounding his own HVT to keep McMurrough from using his twin chain rifle templates, but a hail mary smoke grenade from a nearby Highlander put McMurrough in smoke, and a lucky spec fire from McMurrough put a grenade on top of all 3 of the Morats. And then McMurrough went through them one-by-one with Stealth, Martial Arts L3 and his Templar CCW killing them all... It mildly felt as if we missed something as it felt unlike Infinity. Last question: I was going to ask, but I also just found the rule that when targeted with a Smoke Grenade template a unit can Dodge to get out of it, so there's that-- some amount of counterplay possible-- but now I have a new question: If someone inside of a smoke grenade is big enough to be inside a Smoke template but in B2B with someone outside of it, what happens? Are they both visible, or are they both concealed, or do they leave the Zero Visibility Zone vis a vis the one model being outside of it? As always, thanks for reading! Being able to have things dumbed down for me helps so much and I appreciate every one of you.
  2. This situation came up in last night's game, and we weren't sure if we played through it right. Any clarification would be appreciated! Thanks in advance. Board State: It is my reactive turn. I have a pitcher next to this core link: Both Cranes and a Celestial Guard FO are unquestionably in ZoC of my repeater. I have only two units that can draw LoF to the core link, and they can only see the Crane AHD: I have two unlinked (no SSL1/2) AHD's on the table, out of LoF and ZoC of the ISS link: Order Expenditure: My opponent declares Short Skill: Move, and moves the entire link into total cover from all of my forces. The link leader is the Crane AHD (visible at the start of movement to my Grenzer and Jaguar). In ARO, I declare BS Attack with the Grenzer and Jaguar, choosing Missile Launcher (Blast) and Panzerfaust, respectively, targeting the Crane AHD. The ML template covers both Cranes. My opponent declares Short Skill: Dodge as his second short skill. Now that he's broken Stealth, I declare Oblivion from both hackers through the nearby repeater, with the Wildcat and Rev Custodier targeting separate Crane Agents. Questions: Due to Stealth on the Crane Agents, I am unable to declare a hacking attack initially. Do I have to forfeit my ARO with the hackers because the Celestial Guard FO (who isn't a legal hacking target) activated in my Repeater's ZoC, or am I allowed to hack them after they declare a non-movement skill, thus breaking Stealth? If the Crane AHD was not the link leader, does the answer to the above question change? The Crane Agents (and the link) are unable to declare Reset because they are not the target of a comms attack (until they Dodge and become legal hacking targets). Is this correct? Outcome: For those curious, my opponent failed his dodges on the Cranes, and I landed the Panzerfaust and ML hits. I fail both Oblivion rolls. He makes EIGHT out of nine ARM rolls and takes a wound on the Spitfire.
  3. Hello. I discovered one subsectiont in stealth rule, that never call my attention before: If the Movement of the trooper with Stealth ends in base to base contact with an enemy and declares any non-Movement Short Skill, then the enemy can only declare CC Attack, Dodge, Reset, or those Skills that can be used in Engaged state. It's getting really strange if out of context. Can I really move within opponent model's LoS and he can not shoot at me if my Stealth model ends movement in BtB?
  4. Scenario 1: Model with Stealth sneaks up behind and out of LoF of a model without Sixth Sense, entering CC (and thus LoF) at the end of a move order. The reactive player declares an ARO; due to Stealth they can only declare AROs usable in CC. They elect to Dodge. The active model with Stealth elects to CC w/ knife, and succeeds, killing its target. Nearby models do not get to use the Warning rule due to the kill being made with a silent weapon. Scenario 2: Model w/out Stealth sneaks up behind and out of LoF of a model without Sixth Sense, entering CC (and thus LoF) at the end of a move order. The reactive player declares an ARO; because the active model does not have Stealth their actions are not restricted. They elect to fire a BS weapon; this is allowed because Stealth is not restricting their actions to those only available while engaged. The active model elects to CC w/ knife, and succeeds, killing its target. Nearby models do not get to change facing due to their chance for an ARO having already passed. Nearby models do not get to use the Warning rule due to the kill being made with a silent weapon. Scenario 3: Model with or without Stealth (doesn't matter) sneaks up behind and out of LoF of a model with Sixth Sense, entering CC (and thus LoF) at the end of a move order. The reactive player delays their ARO via Sixth Sense's ability. The active model elects to CC attack w/ knife as second action. Since the model w/ Sixth Sense was the target of an attack, they can respond to the action ignoring LoF, and elect to use a BS attack against the model engaging them. Are these scenarios correct? Incorrect, and if so, why? Trying to understand the interaction of Sixth Sense, Stealth, and LoF.
  5. Let say we have such situation: there's a brave de Fersen with Magister buddy approaching vicious KHD Hac Tao. Both Fersen and Magister are outside HacTao ZoC, with first short skill they both go into HacTao Zoc while Fersen uses stealth from MA and Magister do not uses stealth. Magister triggers ARO (none of them have LoF to each other) so HacTao can only either do Change Facing or Reset ? If so on 2nd skill Fersen can safely use Trinity against him without any way of HacTao harmful (towards Fersen) response ? So you can cycle this untill Hac Tao dies right ?
  6. Greetings my state-empire friends, I have a 300pts tournament going on the 17th of December, and I would need your advice on which list is best for the overall scenarios : -Safe area -Antenna Fields -Supplies (I restricted myself to those two list because: 1) I play Yu Jing mainly for HI / 2) I wanted to have a bit more tools with some badass infantry that could play an infiltrate role/ 3) because I love the models / 4) I don't necessarily play competitive) Here are my 2 lists from which I need to choose one: Heavy Fire ────────────────────────────────────────────────── 9 ZÚYǑNG Lieutenant (AutomediKit) HMG / 2 Breaker Pistols, Knife. (1 | 39) HAC TAO Hacker (Killer Hacking Device) MULTI Rifle, Nanopulser / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 67) DÀOFĚI Hacker (Assault Hacking Device) MULTI Rifle / Pistol, Shock CCW. (0.5 | 59) GŬILÁNG (Forward Observer, Deployable Repeater) Combi Rifle, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 27) ZÚYǑNG (AutomediKit) HMG / 2 Breaker Pistols, Knife. (2 | 39) ZÚYǑNG (AutomediKit) HMG / 2 Breaker Pistols, Knife. (2 | 39) PANGGULING (Minesweeper, Repeater) Electric Pulse. (0 | 8) ZHANSHI Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 11) ZHANSHI Combi Rifle / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 11) 5.5 SWC | 300 Points Open in Infinity Army Heavy Fire ────────────────────────────────────────────────── 8 ZÚYǑNG Lieutenant (AutomediKit) HMG / 2 Breaker Pistols, Knife. (1 | 39) HAC TAO Hacker (Killer Hacking Device) MULTI Rifle, Nanopulser / Pistol, DA CCW. (0 | 67) DÀOFĚI Hacker (Assault Hacking Device) MULTI Rifle / Pistol, Shock CCW. (0.5 | 59) GŬILÁNG (Forward Observer, Deployable Repeater) Combi Rifle, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 27) GŬILÁNG (Forward Observer, Deployable Repeater) Combi Rifle, Antipersonnel Mines / Pistol, Knife. (0 | 27) ZÚYǑNG Combi Rifle / 2 Breaker Pistols, Knife. (0 | 27) ZÚYǑNG Combi Rifle / 2 Breaker Pistols, Knife. (0 | 27) ZÚYǑNG Combi Rifle / 2 Breaker Pistols, Knife. (0 | 27) 1.5 SWC | 300 Points Open in Infinity Army
  7. So by poking around on the forums here I have found out that a hacker's hacking area is treated as ZoC for the purposed of the interaction of stealth and hacking - i.e. if the model with stealth stays out of LoF and only uses certain skills, the hacker cannot react to them through the repeater. But as far as LoF is considered in this situation... in most cases if a model with stealth is mucking about near a repeater, the hacker won't have LoF to them. Is the repeater's LoF used in this case? How would that even make sense with a deployed repeater? Or do you go by the hacker's LoF?... meaning a model with Stealth can waltz right by a deployed repeater as long as he doesn't make too much noise, or, more humorously, run past an armed repeater remote while being shot at with the hacker across the board unable to do anything about it.
  8. In the example in the rules "In her next Order the Ninja declares that the first Short Skill will be to Moveto enter base to base contact with the Orc Trooper. The Ninja's movement also avoids the LoF of the Orc Trooper, but as the movement ends in base to base contact, the Orc Trooper can react with a CC Attack without having to Change Facing first. The Ninja, smiling under her mask, declares that she will make a CC Attack on the Orc as the second Short Skill of her Order." What're the implications if the Orc gains LoF as the Ninja makes her approach during her move to base to base contact?
  9. Let's se a Daturazi moves in ZoC of a CrazyKoala, is the Koala triggered or does Daturazi's Stealth prevent it? If so, can the Daturazi declare Dodge to trigger the Koala despite not having LoF to any enemy trooper? Ok, sure, the Daturazi still could to just opt out of using Stealth, but I'm still interested if Stealth actually does protect against Koalas and can you dodge without LoF on the active turn.
  10. After a game last night, I was left with a few questions regarding some of the rules that affected our game. I am a very new player, so didn’t question the rulings too heavily since my opponent has a lot more experience than I do. I am going over the rules in question now, to gain a better understanding of the interactions and wanted to get some feedback. I ended up losing the game, mostly because of quite a few errors and tactical mistakes on my part. Still, I am concerned about one particular interaction where I felt some of the rules were not followed correctly. Here is what happened: I was playing Haqqislam against Ariadna. I had deployed my Impersonated Fiday just outside of range of a 5 man link team (which I knew from previous experience, are quite deadly). I think they were Minutemen, though I’m not 100% sure. My goal was to drop a few members from the link, and reduce their effectiveness before they could really put the hurt on me. My Fiday opened the game by throwing a smoke grenade in order to provide some cover from some other units to move closer to the Minutemen. I moved forward into the smoke, placed a mine, and then through another smoke grenade. My first set of question comes up here: The Minutemen declared the Dodge ARO using Sixth Sense L2, since I had declared an order in his ZoC. Was this allowed? Reading the rules now, it doesn’t seem like it was. Dodge: The user must be able to draw LoF to the attacker. Sixth Sense L2: In order to use Sixth Sense L2, the user must be the target of an Attack. From my thinking: since my smoke grenade didn’t actually target any of the minutemen, Sixth Sense wouldn’t trigger. Sixth sense would trigger for ZoC, but that only allows Change Facing and Reset right? The Dodge ARO wouldn’t be valid since they didn’t have LoF. Is that correct? Anyway, now my second question comes up: When the Minutemen declared the Dodge ARO, all of them triggered the Dodge ARO. Now this is something I specifically questioned on the spot. I understand the fact that all members of a link must perform the same ARO, but I argued that the ones outside of ZoC wouldn’t be able to (remember, for this instance, I already accepted that Dodge worked in ZoC because of Sixth Sense). My opponent insisted that the ARO triggered on all of the members regardless, since the rules specifically states they must all perform the same ARO: if one in the group can legally trigger Dodge, they all do. This felt really wrong to me, but I accepted it. It is one of the main reasons I started looking up the rules on link-teams. Edit: Just to be clear, when I say he "insisted" I don't mean that he was being overhanded or pushy or anything. I had asked about it, and he explained his interpretation, which is what we used. Please don't interpret that as him being a jerk or anything, he absolutely was not. Fireteams Reactive Turn: During the Reactive Turn, all linked troops in LOF or ZC of an enemy figure must perform the same ARO against the enemy miniature if they react to it. My interpretation is that while it says they “must perform the same ARO” it also stipulates “if they react.” If a Link-team member cannot react to my order by itself (i.e. not being in ZoC) then wouldn’t that exclude them from performing the ARO with the rest of the team? If had thought that if only three members of a link-team meet the requirements for the chosen ARO, then only those three perform the ARO right? I felt like all five members shouldn’t have been able to perform the ARO since not all of them met the requirement (ZoC). Third question: (I'm actually not questioning what we did in the game for this one, but questioning the wording of the rule as written) After the dodge ARO, one of the link members went unconscious from the mine triggering, and the rest that successfully dodged moved positions. One of them moved into an open doorway, with his back to the interior of the room. Still in smoke, my Fiday started moving around to the other side of the building, hoping to sneak up behind him and shoot. While the Fiday was moving, he was was within ZoC, and Sixth Sense let him take the Change Facing ARO. Now, obviously this was legal because it met the “An enemy declares or carries out an Order inside the Zone of Control of the user.” requirement. My question is regarding the effect. Change Facing Effect: “Change Facing works like the Dodge Skill in Reactive Turn, but the Roll to use it is PH-3 and the user does not get to Move on a success, only turn around so that the active enemy is inside his LoF.” If my Fiday is moving behind a building, and in smoke, then does the effect still work? It says the user can only turn around so that the active enemy is inside his LoF. Since I was behind a building, I wasn’t ever in LoF, can he even turn at all? I'm going to assume that the text merely an attempt to describe how Change Facing differs from dodge, and change facing lets them face any direction they please…. even if they want to turn completely away from me (not that they would). I suspect change facing lets you turn whichever way you please, but that line from the rules made me question that. Regardless of this move, Sixth Sense would have let him turn after I tried shooting him, so I would never have gotten to shoot him in the back. Still, it made me think about how Change Facing works, and if a model can still turn like this, when the figure that triggered it isn't in LoF after the facing change. Thanks for the help. I'm still trying to wrap my head around when to use certain abilities, and what to watch out for when performing orders. I was somewhat disappointed at how ineffective my Fiday became, thinking I could do more against the link than I did. Outside of that first encounter, I learned a lot from this game. Like I said, my opponent played very well, and I made quite a few bad choices regarding my own ARO's and troop movements. I am really trying to understand the rules better, so I can properly adjust my tactics.
  11. Ok so I think I know the answer and my buddy does too but he did ask where in the rulebook it says it and for the life of me I havnt a clue. So I thought to pop it on here in the hope of some Guru helping me out. So my TO CAMO'd, stealth ninja was in such a place as to be able to get into close combat with my mates unlucky little line trooper. I could trace a line from the ninja to the other trooper so that I would go behind the troopers back and the trooper could not turn round as the ninja had stealth. So when the ninja attacked the other trooper could only make a CC attack, right? Well my mate said that he could declare a BS attack, as when you are in close combat the model gets 360 degree point-of-view, and at any point along the line it moved as the whole order happens at the same time. Could that happen, could he fire his main weapon at the ninja as the ninja closed in for CC? So what do you think then peeps?
  12. Got a question for ya related to stealth hackers or anything hackable really with Stealth. Stealth rule says it only works in Zone of Control. So if a stealthed model uses only short movement skills inside the hackers ZoC, the hacker does not get an ARO? I'm assuming this is how it goes. Ok so then what if the hacker is in range of an enemy repeater and the enemy hacker is on the other side of the board and he activates only using short movement skills? He's not in the ZoC of the enemy hacker, so stealth can't kick in, so the enemy hacker gets to react?
  13. Can an impersonation marker use stealth to engage from the front 180 without provoking a Shoot or CC ARO? Saying that the Impersonation marker just walks up to base to base contact using stealth to negate attacks during the engaging order to tie a model up in CC. I know the rules say outside of their LoF but is their any reason the blending of the two rules shouldn't work that way. Once a model sees the marker they must declare ARO or hold for attack. 6th sense is also dependent on an attack so what is the verdict. Secondly, engulfing a model in smoke first would basically make it's LoF nothing... this all of course to ensure maximum success rate, and limit as much as possible the opponents chance of winning a face to face roll before the first order of CC rolls are made. Example being an active turn Fiday tying up a Myrm with no dice rolls, then walking in Yasbir or Al-Djabel to do the work with allied bonuses with no risk to the initiator and less risk to the duelist.
  14. Do Crazy Koalas trigger if the target has Stealth and is not moving LoF of the Koalas?
  15. A quick question: Stealth states if you end your movement in base to base with an enemy he may only aro with cc, dodge, reset as long as you do an non movement skill. Now the question: does it mean a model with stealth without any ch: or Impersonation skills can start in LOF of an enemy and can't be fired at by this enemy, as long as it ends its movement in base to base with the enemy model and does a non movement skill? So more plainly you can Assault (special skill) for example an Aquila in his line of fire and he can't shoot you?
  16. I tried searching for this and couldn't find a clear answer, so I'll bring it up again in the attempt that it gets answered. Would a model with stealth that walks into the ZoC, but not LoF to a repeater be able to be hacked through the repeater?
  17. Hi to everyone! I have a question about mines ( and crazy koala) and stealth ( martial art). Stealth permits to move in Zoc without generating any Aro. So, if I have Martial Arts and I pass near to Crazy Koala or mine can I avoid to trig an Aro? My doubt start from the fact that mines and koalas haven't necessity of line of fire. Can you help me?
  18. One question: a stealth active troop arrive in CC from the back (out of LOF) and declare as second part CC attacck using trhe knife (SILENT weapon) does the reactive trooper declare any aro back ? Ty
  19. This was a question brought up in an another thread, but I thought it best to move it to the correct forum. Knight of the Holy Sepulchre and Hassassin Husam Yasbir both have Martial Arts and Holoprojector L2. This gives them both Stealth and Surprise Attack. Surprise Attack stipulates: Stealth states: HoloProjector L2 is in Human Sphere, it states: For reference, Holoprojector appears under the following entries in the N3 rulebook: Open and Private Information: Fury: Frenzy: Burnt (state) So if Yasbir or a KHS enter into base to base contact with at least one Holoecho active, would they be able to use the Surprise Attack rule? Technically, the model is in Holoprojector L2 State, has entered into base to base contact but does not qualify specifically due to Surprise Attack not stating Holoprojector specifically. I play neither PanO or Haqqislam, and would just like to see how the logic of rulings that update N2 rules are carried out, but I'm sure there may be players in the future who would like to know.
  20. Correct me if I'm wrong but Yojimbo has Martial Arts Lvl.4. Martial Arts grants Stealth. His bike prevents him from making Cautious Movements but Stealth also lets him short movement skill through an enemies ZoC whilst out of sight without causing ARO's. Combined with his smoke grenades, this makes an excellent combination for drive by executions! I'm not sure if you can move into CC through a zero-visibility zone, though. I'm sure I've read you can't somewhere but i can't find it. (It makes sense too because current engines are getting quieter and quieter so 175 years from now they'll likely be silent or at least have a silent mode.)