• 0
grasiu

Shooting at CC

Question

There is one example in the N3 core book:

  1. Fusilier Angus watches as his comrade Fusilier Bipandra is attacked in CC by the Alguacil Ortega. Angus, always the gentleman, tries to help and declares his ARO will be to make a BS Attack, then opens re on Ortega. To hit Ortega, Angus needs to roll 9 or less on his d20 [BS: 12 +3 (Range MOD) –6 (MOD for trying to avoid friendly re) = 9]. What he rolls instead is a 12. Uh oh. He failed his Roll, and he did so because of the MOD for having to avoid hitting his ally engaged in that CC (10 to 15 on the die). This means his FC is 3 (12-9=3), less than the value of the MOD (-6), so Angus ends up shooting Bipandra by accident. Now Bipandra must make an ARM Roll and, if she passes it, she will want to have a word with her comrade Angus. 

But what about critical hits, are they applied? If yes to whom?

Correct me if I am wrong but I understand this way. Taking into consideration the example above there are two possibility to hit:

  • 1-9 roll to hit enemy model. Does it mean that 9 is a critical hit?
  • 10-15 roll to hit friendly model. Does it also mean that 15 is critical hit which applies to own model?

Thank you in advance for all help

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 answers to this question

  • 0
12 minutes ago, grasiu said:

There is one example in the N3 core book:

  1. Fusilier Angus watches as his comrade Fusilier Bipandra is attacked in CC by the Alguacil Ortega. Angus, always the gentleman, tries to help and declares his ARO will be to make a BS Attack, then opens re on Ortega. To hit Ortega, Angus needs to roll 9 or less on his d20 [BS: 12 +3 (Range MOD) –6 (MOD for trying to avoid friendly re) = 9]. What he rolls instead is a 12. Uh oh. He failed his Roll, and he did so because of the MOD for having to avoid hitting his ally engaged in that CC (10 to 15 on the die). This means his FC is 3 (12-9=3), less than the value of the MOD (-6), so Angus ends up shooting Bipandra by accident. Now Bipandra must make an ARM Roll and, if she passes it, she will want to have a word with her comrade Angus. 

But what about critical hits, are they applied? If yes to whom?

Look at the definition of a critical again.

"When the result on the die matches the value of the Attribute (remember: the value of the Attribute with all MODs applied), the action is a Critical success." and compare that to Failure Category

"The Failure Category (FC) is the margin by which the die result exceeds the relevant Attribute. The FC is used to determine how badly the action failed.

To calculate the FC of a roll, simply subtract the final value of the Attribute from the result on the die."

That means that you can't get a critical on a miss, the definitions are incompatible.

 

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

So the only possibility to roll a crit is at the enemy?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Exactly. As solkan says, anything falling into that -6 MOD range to 'hit' your own trooper was a miss as far as crits are concerned.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.