Luke

Build up a community? Need help!

3 posts in this topic

Hi all!

My name is Luke and I am from Holland. I have a problem... 

I play Infinity now with my best friend, but I want to play to more people so I can improve my skills and learn more about the game. But the nearest store who sells Infinity is 2 hours driving. 

Do you guys maybe have any tips to make a bigger community around where I live. Miniature games are not so famous in my city but do you guys know some kind of ways to let people (even strangers) play Infinity so I can make a cool and nice community and play some ITS missions?

Please let me know some tips...!

A bit of context, I started playing with 2 of my friends at a local hobby shop. I now run a group of approximately 100 local players, with say 20-30 active in a given quarter of the year and hold monthly tournaments that typically run out of space. But this has taken years, you won't suddenly have a giant group over night I'm afraid. 

The biggest thing is consistency. Find a place to play on a regular basis whether its once a month or once a week. Ideally this would be at a local hobby shop. If the shop doesn't sell Infinity its best to talk to them politely first. If you dont have a local hobby shop, check out Churchs, Community Centers or Coffee shops for a board game night and see if you can co-opt some space then. You can also advertise online to see if there are any other people in your area that are playing at home.

Make sure you have 2 simple learning armies that are painted, they don't have to be complex just 3 line troops a side will be fine. These are handy for when people walk by and are interested in what you're doing. You can offer a friendly learning game with these ready to go models.