Kaptain O

Panoply/Logistics Question

2 posts in this topic

I have a game of Firefight tonight and I wanted to get some clarification on how the Panoplies work ahead of time.  Here is the rules text for the Panoplies in the Season 9 ITS document:

Quote

USE THE PANOPLIES (SHORT SKILL)

LABELS

Attack.

REQUIREMENTS

The trooper must be in base contact with a Panoply.

EFFECTS

  • Allows the trooper to use the Logistics Trait of a Panoply:

    • By succeeding at a WIP Roll, a trooper can make a Roll on any of the Booty Charts to obtain one weapon or piece of equipment. Once a success has been rolled, that trooper cannot use the Logistics Trait of this piece of scenery again.

    • Troopers possessing the Booty or the Scavenger Special Skill, or any other Skill which specifies so, don’t need to make the WIP Roll and may automatically make a Roll on any of the Booty Charts.

    • A trooper in base contact with this piece of scenery may spend one Short Skill of an Order to cancel his Unloaded state.

  • By succeeding at a WIP Roll, the Specialist Troops can roll twice on any of the Booty Charts but they can only choose one of the results.

I searched and found this post from IJW:

On ‎2‎/‎15‎/‎2016 at 5:22 AM, IJW Wartrader said:

1) There's no limit on the number of times you can reload from a Panoply, but once you've successfully rolled to search it you can't use any part of it's Logistics Trait so can't reload any more.

So that answered one of my questions.  The rest of my questions are related to the way the effects are formatted/nested.

  1. The first bullet point has multiple subsections so if I perform the "Use the Panoplies" short skill with a normal trooper will he get to roll on the booty chart *and* cancel his Unloaded state or does he have to choose one or the other?
  2. If I have used 2 of my 3 AP Mines I am not in the Unloaded state, can I still use the Panoply to "top up" my mines back to 3 or do I have to be completely empty of one (or more) pieces of disposable equipment to refill any/all of them?
  3. The Subsection about models with Booty appears in the first section and given the way it is worded it seems to modify the normal trooper effect in the same section.  The second section referring to Specialist Troops seems to be worded as a second effect entirely (i.e. it tells you to make a WIP roll rather than saying "Specialist Troops may roll twice on the table..." and that effect does not include the clause disallowing subsequent uses of the logistics trait once a success has been rolled.  Does this mean that a Specialist may use the panoply as many times as they want over the course of the game?
  4. If the answer to Question 1 was "Yes, a normal trooper can (with a single short skill) make a WIP roll to roll on a Booty table and cancel the Unloaded state.", if a specialist uses a short skill to roll twice on the Booty table are they also able to cancel the Unloaded state?

Thanks for any help and please if possible can you explain the reason for any answers and if/how the formatting of the effects section affects things?  I just want to get better at understanding how it all works.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
27 minutes ago, Kaptain O said:

A trooper in base contact with this piece of scenery may spend one Short Skill of an Order to cancel his Unloaded state.

the wording of this is very different than the wording of baggage. Enough to imply that Baggage you can re-load partially used deployable, but it is not the case for Logistic which can only be used when you are completely Unloaded.

"The second section referring to Specialist Troops seems to be worded as a second effect entirely"

The first bullet, which contain the 3 bullet are the normal Logistic Effects (which are used any time you have a logistic scenery - even when the mission didn't force you to have one).

To me, it seem the Specialist bullet point is meant to modify the normal Logistic Effect. The same way Booty (1.2) modify the initial effect (1.1), the specialist (2.0) is meant to modify the (1.1)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now