• 0
Konuhageruke

Jammer in ARO

Question

If someone comes to Mutawiach from begins back he can only declare ZoC ARO, such as reset, change faceing, and those provided by skills or equipment.

Jammer is a weapon. Can he use it in ARO?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

12 answers to this question

  • 0

Yes. Jammers don't need LOF so they can be chea- used for ZoC AROs.

5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

That is how I interpreted it, but if you approach it form the other side - you face the limitation of types of ARO that are ok. I want to be sure.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

If you read here: http://infinitythewiki.com/en/ARO:_Automatic_Reaction_Order

A trooper owned by the Reactive Player can declare an ARO if any of the following is true:

  • It has Line of Fire (LoF) to a trooper being activated by the Active Player.
  • An enemy trooper activates within its Zone of Control (ZC).
  • It has a Special Skill or piece of Equipment allowing reaction to enemy actions without LoF.

Not requiring LoF for a BS Attack (like Jammers do) fulfill the third bullet

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

That is my problem.

  • It has a Special Skill or piece of Equipment allowing reaction to enemy actions without LoF.

http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Equipment

Jammer is a weapon not a piece of Equipment, so if want to be picky you can have an argument.

I want a clarification and confirmation by some authority. My approach would be the same: you can Jammer in ARO without LoF. But if someone points this out, I would like to know: are weapons equipement? And the question has its basis since there is distinction between Weponary and Equipment in every rulebook. 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
18 minutes ago, Konuhageruke said:

I want a clarification and confirmation by some authority. My approach would be the same: you can Jammer in ARO without LoF

From ARO

 

From Jammer: 

This Technical Weapon doesn't require LoF and acts in the user's Zone of Control, inducing the Isolated state.

  • The user of a Jammer can declare a BS Attack using his WIP Attribute against a target within his ZoC. However, this weapon does not require LoF to the target.
  • A successful Roll forces the target to make a BTS Roll versus Damage 13.
  • .....

From BS -Attack: 

BS-Attack has the ARO Trait. 

 

18 minutes ago, Konuhageruke said:

That is my problem.

  • It has a Special Skill or piece of Equipment allowing reaction to enemy actions without LoF.

http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Equipment

Jammer is a weapon not a piece of Equipment, so if want to be picky you can have an argument.

I want a clarification and confirmation by some authority. My approach would be the same: you can Jammer in ARO without LoF. But if someone points this out, I would like to know: are weapons equipement? And the question has its basis since there is distinction between Weponary and Equipment in every rulebook. 

This paragraph was probalby entered to determine the Use of Hacking Devices for Hacking AROs. Weapons are not Equipment.

Check http://infinitythewiki.com/en/Equipment

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

As I see it. You get the ARO from the second bullet point of ARO rules:
 

 

And next you can choose which skill do you use in ARO and from BS attack requirements (http://infinitythewiki.com/en/BS_Attack_Declaration):

 

For a trooper to declare a BS Attack in its Active Turn or Reactive Turn, it needs to:

  • Be using a BS Weapon, or a Skill or piece of Equipment capable of making a BS Attack.
  • Be able to draw Line of Fire (LoF) to the target of the BS Attack, unless the BS Weapon, Skill or piece of Equipment used doesn't require LoF.
  • Not be in base to base contact with any enemies during the Activation phase of that Order.

The player must make sure to meet all Requirements when activating the trooper by declaring the BS Attack.

 

Second bullet point lets you declare a BS Attack without LoF with BS weapon that doesn't require LoF in Reactive Turn.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
7 hours ago, Konuhageruke said:

I want a clarification and confirmation by some authority.

Unfortunately, the best you are going to get in most cases will be @IJW Wartrader, since the actual rules writers do not answer on this board very frequently.  And he, likely, won't bother if others have brought up the same points he would have anyway.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

This was something that I had a problem with as well not too long ago.  Once I asked a couple of questions, I was able to figure out Jammer.

One thing to remember with ARO vs camouflaged troops...first line is always important to know.

AROs against CH Markers

  • The only AROs available against a CH: Camouflage Marker (CAMO) or a CH: TO Camouflage Marker (TO CAMO) are Discover, Change Facing, and Dodge.
  • Bear in mind that when reacting to a CH: Camouflage or CH: TO Camouflage Marker, you may delay your ARO declaration until after the Marker declares its second Short Skill.
  • However, if you choose to delay your ARO, you may only declare it if the Camouflage Marker revealed itself with its second Short Skill. If the Marker does not reveal itself, the reactive trooper loses his right to ARO.

Jammer does not work against a Camo or TO Camo troop as an ARO, but does work as an ARO vs normal troops.  But, Jammer can be used as an Intuitive Attack on the Active turn, which requires a Full Order.  Also, Camo troops gain Stealth, which gives the chance of Cautious Movement.

http://wiki.infinitythegame.com/en/Stealth

http://wiki.infinitythegame.com/en/Cautious_Movement

Even troops with Sixth Sense have a better chance vs Jammer as well...works great.

http://wiki.infinitythegame.com/en/Sixth_Sense

Hope this helps out a bit...helped me out.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Another example of Jammer needing it's own rule to streamline rules ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I think it would be fair to point out that the wording "An enemy trooper activates within its Zone of Control (ZC)." is somewhat confusing, as ZoC rules allow you to react under conditions broader than that:

"Enemies entering or acting inside the Zone of Control of a trooper while remaining outside that figure's LoF can be reacted to, but only by using the Common Skill Change Facing or Reset, unless the trooper has a Special Skill or piece of Equipment that can be used without LoF."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 11/23/2017 at 3:56 AM, Pietras404 said:

[ snipped for length ]

 

Second bullet point lets you declare a BS Attack without LoF with BS weapon that doesn't require LoF in Reactive Turn.

Exactly!

 

On 12/5/2017 at 9:15 PM, DAE said:

This was something that I had a problem with as well not too long ago.  Once I asked a couple of questions, I was able to figure out Jammer.

One thing to remember with ARO vs camouflaged troops...first line is always important to know.

AROs against CH Markers

  • The only AROs available against a CH: Camouflage Marker (CAMO) or a CH: TO Camouflage Marker (TO CAMO) are Discover, Change Facing, and Dodge.
  • Bear in mind that when reacting to a CH: Camouflage or CH: TO Camouflage Marker, you may delay your ARO declaration until after the Marker declares its second Short Skill.
  • However, if you choose to delay your ARO, you may only declare it if the Camouflage Marker revealed itself with its second Short Skill. If the Marker does not reveal itself, the reactive trooper loses his right to ARO.

Jammer does not work against a Camo or TO Camo troop as an ARO, but does work as an ARO vs normal troops.  But, Jammer can be used as an Intuitive Attack on the Active turn, which requires a Full Order.  Also, Camo troops gain Stealth, which gives the chance of Cautious Movement.

http://wiki.infinitythegame.com/en/Stealth

http://wiki.infinitythegame.com/en/Cautious_Movement

Even troops with Sixth Sense have a better chance vs Jammer as well...works great.

http://wiki.infinitythegame.com/en/Sixth_Sense

Hope this helps out a bit...helped me out.

Because the Camo'd troops (and anyone else with Stealth) don't provoke an ARO in the first place.

For me, the easiest way to learn this is to keep track of what allows an ARO (and what AROs are allowed).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now