Warharan

Starting Yu Jing (what to paint first & other questions)

5 posts in this topic

Hi all,

Black Friday saw some amazing deals and a friend convinced me to start this game.
Splitting meant € 35,- for 10 models (Operation Red veil+expansion) which seems a superb deal.

I obviously got the Yu Jing.

Looking further for some more black Friday I also ordered the Yu Jing Sectorial starter pack and the support pack for ridiculous little money.

My question is simple:

In what order would you recommend me painting this lot up? And why?

Bear in mind I am a newb in Infinity. (lots of wargame experience though)

Also;  is there anything that you feel is absolutely amazing for Yu Jing and among my 20 current models?

Any other tips much appreciated too.

Thanks a bunch in advance.:)

I'd recommend painting the Zanshi (lightly armored infantry) up first, and maybe the Zuyong multirifle.  Whatever are used in the first 2 missions in Red Veil.

I happen to really like fielding a Daofei and two Guilang (usually Daofei hacker with one Guilang FO or minelayer and one sniper).  Lets you play a guessing game with your opponent in the midfield, with 4 camo markers to deal with.  Two are squishy troops, but one will blow up in your face and the other is a 2W Heavy Infantry!

The Zhanying ML is another fun piece, as it is impossible to surprise and has a brutal response to getting shot at.

The Doc and Engineer are older models, but I think they still look good against the newer sculpts.