surreal_trip

Army Painter Quick Shade?

12 posts in this topic

Hey gents, So just got my PanO knights delivered... I'm new to this whole painting thing...

With that said, what do you think of quck shader for a new guy? I'd like my forces to look decent, but I lack skill and anyone to teach me how to paint, and I suspected that the quick shade would be a quick and efficient way of overcoming my own painting shortcomings...

If you're really against it let me know why? Do you think it will glob up the mini's detail? Any other suggestions or recommendations?

In all honestly:

Quickshader isn't really going to compensate for lack of skills, it will just save you time to do highlightings\shadowings. It wont magically fix any error you'll do on detailings and you WILL have to paint gems\details\stuff by yourself anyway.

Quickshader is good for armies in games where you field 30+ models since they'll all blend together, but for stuff like infinity I'd say you should paint your figures one at time.

Now if you want to work around lack of skill, I'd advice drybrushing and washes rather than quickshasding. Youre going to get definetely better results with that.

Infinity miniatures are metal, so whatever happens, you can always strip them and start again easily enough.

That said, I think the quick shade is more designed for models that have chunkier detail and more texture. You could dip your Infinity models and be happy with them anyway; depends on what you want/are happy with/are prepared to try.

However, I think you should probably have a go at more traditional methods of painting by hand. It isn't as hard as you might think, and many people rather enjoy it. Just take your time, paint neatly, and don't feel the need to rush.

There is lots of good painting advice on this forum (and many others too), so if you need further help, have a look around and then ask more questions.

Generally though (and to get you started) you will need: